Ocean Sprints Return for Round 11 Friday Night

Ocean Sprints Return for Round 11 Friday Night

Watsonville, CA – After not completing last weekend to make way for the Mike Cecil Memorial, the Ocean Sprints pres. by Taco Bravo are on the card for this Friday’s program at Ocean Speedway.  Back on July 27th, Aromas’ Justin Sanders obliterated the field to collect his fourth Ocean Sprints win of the season.  Hollister’s Ryan Bernal had his best run since joining the Keith Day Trucking team with a runner-up finish.  Brad Furr of Stockton had a good points night and retook the championship lead over Fresno’s Koen Shaw, who finished fourth at the last race.  Lincoln’s Tanner Carrick completed the top five.  The championship fight has been an entertaining one thus far, with Brad Furr back atop the standings, but only by two points over Koen Shaw.  Even after missing a race earlier in the season, Justin Sanders finds himself third in the standings, 79 points behind Furr.  Jeremy Chisum of Salinas and Gilroy’s Kurt Nelson round out the top five in the current point standings.

                The IMCA Modifieds are back for more this Friday after a great day of racing at the Mike Cecil Memorial last Saturday.  Bobby Hogge IV of Salinas grabbed his fifth win of the season and took home the $1,500 check over out-of-town visitor Clint Reichenbach of Santa Maria.  Alex Wilson, Shane DeVolder, and Austin Burke completed the top five.  Championship leader Cody Burke salvaged a decent night with a sixth-place finish after having to go to through the B-Main.  With just four races left in the season for the division, Cody Burke has a 17 point lead over his brother, Austin.  Alex Wilson is in third, 28 points behind Cody Burke.

                 The American Stocks also return after competing at the Cecil Memorial last Saturday.  Watsonville’s Billy Nelson had to start 13th after winning in his last appearance, but it didn’t prevent him from grabbing the win in the 80-lap feature.  San Martin’s JC Elrod led the majority of the race, but had to settle for second in the end.  San Jose’s Matt Kile led one lap late in the race while battling with Elrod, but fell back to third where he would finish.  The son and father duo of Robert and Joe Gallaher completed the top five. 

                The South Bay Dwarf Cars return to action for the first time in several weeks this Friday night.  Back on July 20th, Santa Cruz’s Terre Rothweiler won for the second time this season over last year’s champion, Camron Diatte of Salinas.  Gilroy’s Zach Price, Gene “Punky” Pires Jr. of Los Banos, and Campbell’s Kyle Jones completed the top five. 

Advanced tickets are available here: https://market.myracepass.com/store/tickets/?i=1156461&store=12231

                Pits are scheduled to open at 2pm and Grandstands will open at 4:30pm.  Pit passes are $40 for IMCA and track members and $45 for non-members.  All seating is general admission and tickets cost $17 for adults and $16 for seniors.  Juniors 12-15 are $12 and Kids 6-11 are $8 and Kids 5 and under are free.  

Photo credits to Joe Shivak.

social position advance

Share this post