Author - racepmg

USAC/CRA Sprint Car Series Heads to Watsonville Friday

Watsonville, CA – The stars and cars of the USAC/CRA Sprint Car Series make their one and only appearance of the 2017 season this Friday.  The West Coast’s best nonwing racers and some visitors from the Midwest will duke it out at the Santa Cruz County ¼- mile Friday night.  The race is Night #5 of 6 of the [...]

Justin Sanders Strong as He Tops Ocean Sprints pres. Taco Bravo Round No. 12

      (PETERSEN MEDIA- Watsonville, CA)- Justin Sanders’ strangle hold on Ocean Speedway victory lane continued on Friday night as the Watsonville, CA driver improved his average to .500 as he won his sixth Ocean Sprints pres. by Taco Bravo feature event win of the season, in what was the series’ 12th race.   After enduring a heart breaker one week ago, Matthew [...]

Round #12 of the Ocean Sprints pres. by Taco Bravo Season On Deck Friday

Watsonville, CA – It’s crunch time for the Ocean Sprints pres. by Taco Bravo Series, as only three races remain in the 2017 season.  Last week, Aromas’ Justin Sanders won for the fifth time this season after capitalizing on a mistake by Fresno rookie, Mathew Moles. Sanders is still trying to claw back in the championship fight, currently led [...]

Justin Sanders Wins 5th of Year at Ocean Speedway

      (PETERSEN MEDIA- Watsonville, CA)- When Friday nights 6 minute and 36 second long feature event came to a close, it was a familiar face in victory lane as Justin Sanders was victorious at Ocean Speedway for the fifth time this season.   Jerry Bonnema and Matthew Moles would lead the field to green for the 30-lap affair. On an extremely fast [...]

Ocean Sprints pres. by Taco Bravo Round #11 Set for Friday Night

Watsonville, CA – Fresh off the 57th Johnny Key Classic, the Ocean Sprints pres. by Taco Bravo had a short turn around in preparation for the eleventh round of racing in the 2017 season Friday night.  Last week, Penngrove’s Michael Kofoid was able to come out on top of the some of the best drivers in the region to [...]

Michael Kofoid Fends off Andy Forsberg To Claim 57th Johnny Key Classic

    (PETERSEN MEDIA- Aptos, CA, )- Though the race was 50-laps, the crowd left Saturday night’s 57th Annual Johnny Key Classic a buzz after Michael Kofoid outlasted a furious charge from Andy Forsberg during the final 10 laps of the feature event to score his first ever Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster feature event win, and become the youngest [...]

Civil War Series Presented by Flowmaster Returns to Ocean Speedway Saturday For $5K-To-Win 57th Johnny Key Classic

    (PETERSEN MEDIA- Aptos, CA, )- Saturday night in Watsonville, CA many of the state’s top racers will be packed into the Ocean Speedway pit area vying for the $5000 and commemorative helmet that go along with winning the 57th Annual Johnny Key Classic.   In what acts as the series’ penultimate event for the 2017 season, a star-studded field is expected [...]

Mike Cecil Memorial Main Events will now pay $1,500 to Win

Watsonville, CA – Thank you to for devoting an extra $500 to each division competing Saturday, August 5th at the 20th Annual Mike Cecil Memorial, meaning that the IMCA All Star Modifieds, IMCA SportMods, and American Stocks will all go for a $1,500 check.   Once again, we would like to thank all of this year’s sponsors, including: Ryland [...]

20th Annual Mike Cecil Memorial on tap Saturday

Watsonville, CA – The 20th Annual Mike Cecil Memorial is this Saturday, August 5th, and will feature the biggest purse in the event’s history.  Over $20,000 in money and raffle prizes is up for grabs for drivers in the IMCA All Star Modified, IMCA SportMod, and American Stock divisions.  $1,000 will go to the winner of each main event, [...]

USAC West Coast Sprint Cars head to Watsonville this Friday

Watsonville, CA – The always exciting nonwing USAC West Coast 360 Sprint Cars roar into Watsonville’s Ocean Speedway for their one and only appearance at the track this season.  Last year, it was Visalia’s Jace Vander Weerd that took the checkered flag ahead of current Ocean Sprints point’s leader Geoff Ensign of Sebastopol, who finished second.  Arizona’s Stevie Sussex [...]