Point leader Justin Sanders gets by Brent Kaeding on lap 21 & pulls away for 2nd straight Ocean win

Point leader Justin Sanders gets by Brent Kaeding on lap 21 & pulls away for 2nd straight Ocean win

11058753_750803478372230_2472450726542871506_nJustin Sanders charges to second win in a row with the Ocean Sprints during another entertaining 30-lapper on Friday

By Gary Thomas

Watsonville, CA – May 8, 2015…Current Ocean Sprints point leader Justin Sanders put together another masterful drive on Friday night, passing Brent Kaeding on lap 21 of the feature en route to his second consecutive Taco Bravo win at the Ocean Speedway.

Sanders has been one of the most impressive drivers in all of Northern California this season and extended his point lead to 34-markers following the victory. The Watsonville, CA driver worked traffic to perfection and made some fantastic moves on the well prepared quarter-mile, aboard the North County Plastering/ Lancaster Locksmith No. 17 mount.

“That was definitely a fun race tonight and I’m pretty pumped to be standing up here in victory lane again,” Sanders said. “That is exactly what a race track is supposed to be like. Having the ability to run multiple grooves and pull off slide jobs is what every racer loves. I can’t say enough about my team and want to thank everyone involved with Ocean Speedway as well. To be able to pass guys like Brent Kaeding and Tommy Tarlton is something to hang your hat on. Hopefully we can make it three in a row next week.”

Brent Kaeding jumped out to the early lead in the feature and looked stout early on at the helm of his Al’s Roofing Supply No. 69 Sprinter. Tarlton tried to keep pace with him through the opening stages, but soon had company in the form of Brad Furr, Sanders and Shane Golobic. On lap 10 Furr carved his way past Tarlton for the second spot, with Sanders also getting by for third on lap 11. Sanders then dispatched of Furr for the runner up spot on lap 13.

The great four car slide fest continued for multiple laps, as Golobic eventually sliced his way by Tarlton and Furr at the halfway point.

Sanders and Golobic then reeled in Kaeding, who saw his comfortable lead evaporate in seconds. Sanders and Kaeding fought for the lead over a few laps, until Sanders made the move on lap 21 to claim the top spot that he would never relinquish. BK kept pace for a couple laps, before Sanders turned on the rocket burners and pulled away to take the Ed Entz checkered flag. Kaeding was able to hold off a very fast Golobic to score his third runner up finish in three Ocean Sprints starts this year.

“Well all I can say is second sucks,” commented a dejected Kaeding on the front stretch. “I thought we were going to have a shot to win this thing, but Justin was really fast again and he made the right moves. We’ve been close to a win this year and we’ll move on to Petaluma with the King of the West Series tomorrow.”

Golobic tallied a third place finish for the third time this season with the Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo. In fact, he has finished just behind Kaeding on all three occasions this year aboard his Keith Day Trucking No. 22 machine. “It was a great track tonight and a lot of fun to race on. We had a really good battle there with Brent and I wish we could have got up there to race with Justin, but he was pretty fast again. I want to thank this whole Keith Day Trucking team and also all you fans that came out tonight. We couldn’t do it without you.”

Tarlton crossed the stripe in fourth, with Furr rounding out the top-five. Fresno’s Koen Shaw had one of the best nights of his season coming home in sixth, as did Salinas, CA’s Jeremy Chisum in seventh. Fresno’s Kyler Shaw, Fremont’s Dustin Golobic and Salinas’ Jason Chisum completed the top-10. Sanders earned the High Five Pizza Hard Charger Award in the feature. Full results can be found on www.racepmg.com

The two heat races held during the night were picked off by Brad Furr and Brent Kaeding, while Furr opened the evening by setting the Ray Scheidts Electric Fast Time for the second week in a row. The Beer Optics Hard Luck Award went to Gilroy’s Kurt Nelson, who suffered extensive damage in an A-main crash.

A-main finish: #17 Justin Sanders #69 Brent Kaeding #22 Shane Golobic #21 Tommy Tarlton #2 Brad Furr #88 Koen Shaw #8 Jermey Chisum #92 Kyler Shaw #9J Dustin Golobic #25Z Jason Chisum #72W Kurt Nelson #23 Ken Fredenburg #55 Danny Malfatti #6D Josh Chisum #51 Anthony Espinoza #34 Darrell Taylor #3T Nicholas Ringo

The Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo will be back in action next Friday night May 15 for round number six on the season. After that a week off will be seen, before resuming action on Friday May 29.

Photos courtesy Dave Spencer TDS Shots

social position advance

Share this post