Shane Golobic kicks-off Taco Bravo season in victory lane on Friday night at Ocean Speedway

Shane Golobic kicks-off Taco Bravo season in victory lane on Friday night at Ocean Speedway

12993563_1252883731407490_5317367277523379314_nTwo-time Taco Bravo champ Shane Golobic takes Ocean Sprints season-opener over Justin Sanders & Brad Furr on Friday night

By Gary Thomas

Watsonville, Ca – April 15, 2016…After inheriting the lead early on Fremont’s Shane Golobic proceeded to run a near perfect race through traffic, before holding off a hard charging Justin Sanders to claim opening night of the Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo season on Friday.

Golobic, the 2012 & ’14 Taco Bravo champion carved his way to second early in the race and got the break he needed when misfortune struck leader Ryan Robinson in lapped traffic. Robinson, the talented 15-year-old had taken the lead at the start, but got over a right rear tire while trying to trying to lap a car, which resulted in him getting upside down on lap eight. The Foresthill, CA youngster was very impressive driving the Rod Tiner Racing No. 83sa and certainly showed why he’s one of the brightest up & coming prospects from the Golden State.

Following that things were fairly uneventful up front for Golobic, until Sanders made it interesting late in the race. The victory for Golobic came aboard the familiar Keith Day Trucking/ Gabilan Ag Service No. 22 Sprint Car and marked his second overall triumph of the year, after claiming the USAC National Midget Series sanctioned Shamrock Classic in Illinois on March 19.

“We always love coming out here to Ocean Speedway and racing in front of our home track fans,” Golobic commented after the race. “Early on we had a break when Ryan Robinson got upside down and after that I really focused on running my own race and getting through traffic well. I had a feeling Justin Sanders was going to be coming on the top and I knew I’d have to get going even harder if I heard him. Thankfully we were able to come out on top and we’ll be back next Friday looking to do it again. I can’t thank all my guys enough for their hard work & support.”

A year after winning a record nine main events with the Ocean Sprints, Sanders kicked-off his title defense with a runner up effort at the helm of the North County Plastering/ Fire Protection Management No. 17 machine. The 24-year-old was exciting to watch, as he charged hard around the high-side of the quarter-mile, getting into second on lap 20. Sanders then got close at one point, but couldn’t get the opportunity he needed and Golobic took the checkered flag by 0.883 seconds.

Stockton’s Brad Furr captured the dash and ended up third in the feature behind the wheel of the Price Rite Restaurant/ Brad Furr Racing No. 2 mount. The 2013 Ocean Sprints champ had to hold off a relentless late race challenge from Campbell’s Brent Kaeding, who came home fourth in the Al’s Roofing Supply No. 69 Sprinter. Kaeding, a two-time Ocean Sprints titlist ran close to Furr’s tail tank, but couldn’t quite find a way by.

Gilroy’s Kurt Nelson had a solid run in the feature to round out the top-five in the Taco Bravo Racing No. 72w machine. Nelson battled with Easton’s Tommy Tarlton over the course of the race, before making the final pass late in the going. The top-10 was rounded out by Tarlton, Fresno’s Kyler Shaw, Hollister’s Tony Gualda, 20th starter Jason Chisum of Salinas and Cottonwood’s Lucas Ashe.

For Gualda it was a nice charge back through the field after catching a rut and bicycling on the opening lap while battling for the lead, which forced him to come to a stop, bringing out a yellow. After changing the left rear tire in the work area the 16-year-old returned to the track and put together a solid run. It was also a strong rebound for Ashe, who was making his very first start in a Sprint Car. The 15-year-old got upside down in his heat race, before coming back and recording a top-10 finish in the feature.

As noted Furr won the night’s dash and the $300 that went along with it courtesy of Norm Martin Motorsports. The three heat races were picked off by Ryan Robinson, Kyler Shaw and Brent Kaeding. Furr kicked-off the night by earning the Ray Scheidts Electric Fast Time Award with a clocking of 11.815 around the quarter-mile bullring. Full results will be available at

A-main finish: 1. #22 Shane Golobic, 2. #17 Justin Sanders, 3. #2 Brad Furr, 4. #69 Brent Kaeding, 5. #72W Kurt Nelson, 6. #21 Tommy Tarlton, 7. #92 Kyler Shaw, 8. #99 Tony Gualda, 9. #25Z Jason Chisum, 10. #33 Lucas Ashe, 11. #4S Michael Kofoid, 12. #9J Dustin Golobic, 13. #10 Anthony Simone, 14. #91C Shawn Conde, 15. #34 Darrell Taylor, 16. #73 Craig Frandsen, 17. #83SA Ryan Robinson, 18. #8 Jeremy Chisum, 19. #88 Koen Shaw, 20. #4 Burt Foland Jr, 21. #3 Kaleb Montgomery, 22. #55 Danny Malfatti

The Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo return to action next Friday night April 22 for round two.

The Ocean Sprints & Ocean Speedway is held under the management of Prentice Motorsports Group, which also operates the King of the West 410 Sprint Car Series, the Civil War 360 Sprint Car Series presented by Flowmaster, the Wingless Sprint Car Series presented by Hunt Magnetos, the All Star Modified Tour.

The Ocean Sprints would like to thank Taco Bravo, High Five Pizza, Ray Scheidts Electric, Beer Optics, Hoosier Tires West, Flowmaster, Budweiser and Kaeding Performance for their support. For more information on the Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo log onto


social position advance

Share this post