Simunovich, Gallaher, Keldsen win July 29th at Ocean Speedway

Simunovich, Gallaher, Keldsen win July 29th at Ocean Speedway

Dennis Simunovich and DJ Keldsen take win #3 of 2016, Robert Gallaher grabs his fourth

By Sean Stanish

Watsonville, CA – Dennis Simunovich of Hollister picked up his third win of the season and his second in a row.  Morgan Hill’s Anthony Giuliani took the heat race win over Simunovich, with San Martin’s Justin McPherson, Morgan Hill’s Jim DiGiovanni, and Watsonville’s Adriane Frost completing the top five.  In the 20-lap main event, Anthony Giuliani led the first seven laps before Dennis Simunovich took the lead down the back straight.  The pair appeared to get hooked together momentarily going into turn three.  They separated, but the caution came out for the slowing car of Duane Bieser as the caution came out.  As Simunovich was trying to maneuver past, he made contact with Bieser, but it wasn’t enough to cause any significant damage.  The yellow gave the lead back to Anthony Giuliani, with Dennis Simunovich and Justin McPherson, who also suffered damage in the melee, runni13090695_10205135643829171_2124834405_ong second and third.  On the restart, Anthony Giuliani held off Simunovich, but eventually gave up the lead to the former USAC Ford Focus Midget driver.  Once past, Simunovich checked out and took the checkered flag one and a half seconds ahead of Anthony Giuliani.  Adriane Frost had a great run in third, with Shane DeVolder and Justin McPherson rounding out the top five.  The IMCA Sport Mods return to the track this Saturday for a 30-lap, $800 to win, $50 to start race as part of the Mike Cecil Memorial.


San Jose’s Robert Gallaher grabbed his fourth win of the year in the American Stocks after an entertaining battle with Terry Campion and Tony Oliveira of Watsonville.  Gallaher swept the evening after also taking the heat race victory.  Campion of Santa Cruz, Watsonville’s George Fernandez, Mike Calhoun (driving John Farrell’s car), and Katie Briggs of San Jose completed the top five.  In the 20-lap feature, Tony Oliveira led one lap before the caution came out for George Fernandez, who looked to have lost a radiator or blown a hose, as a huge puff of steam bellowed from the car.  On the restart, Tony Oliveira and Robert Gallaher stayed glued side-by-side for several laps, before the yellow flag came back out.  Mike Calhoun punted Sam Kennedy into a spin entering turn three and Kennedy took exception.  The pair traded bumps in the corner, eventually separating on the front stretch.  Once back to racing, Oliveira and Gallaher continued their fight for the lead, with Terry Campion following closely in third.  Gallaher took the lead, with Campion now running second.  The next yellow flew on lap 13 for Sam Kennedy, wh13901986_10205135644829196_1037361017_oo spun in turns three and four, trying to pass Katie Briggs for fourth.  It was now Gallaher vs. Campion for the lead, but another yellow, this time for Tony Oliveira, momentarily halted the exchange.  The pair traded the lead several times before Robert Gallaher pulled a slight gap over last year’s champion.  At the checkered flag, Gallaher won by half a second over Terry Campion.  Katie Briggs, Mike Calhoun, and Chowchilla’s Austin Van Hoff completed the top five.  The American Stocks now have the daunting task of an 80-lap affair this Saturday, paying $600 to win and $50 to start.


Prunedale’s DJ Keldsen continued his winning ways Friday with another dominating performance in the 4-Bangers.  Keldsen once again swept the evening, taking both the heat and the feature.  In the heat race, DJ Keldsen won over Aromas’ Paul Laoretti, with Bill and Nicole Beardsley of Felton, and Jason Bookout of Salinas 13902032_10205135643789170_475324381_ocompleting the field.  In the 20-lap feature, Jason Bookout led the first two laps before DJ Keldsen passed him out of turn four.  Keldsen pulled away from the field, but a caution late in the race for Jason Bookout set up a four lap sprint to the finish.  Keldsen continued to lead, but Paul Laoretti was looking for his first career 4-Banger win.  Laoretti would have to settle for second, one second behind DJ Keldsen.  Bill Beardsley, Jason Bookout, and Nicole Beardsley rounded out the field.  The 4-Bangers are back in action this Saturday as part of the Mike Cecil Memorial.


Photo Credits to Racing Edge Video Productions & Photo

social position advance

Share this post