USAC/CRA Sprint Car Series Heads to Watsonville Friday

USAC/CRA Sprint Car Series Heads to Watsonville Friday

Watsonville, CA – The stars and cars of the USAC/CRA Sprint Car Series make their one and only appearance of the 2017 season this Friday.  The West Coast’s best nonwing racers and some visitors from the Midwest will duke it out at the Santa Cruz County ¼- mile Friday night.  The race is Night #5 of 6 of the 4th Annual California Sprint Week.  Indianapolis, Indiana’s “Sunshine” Tyler Courtney and Cullman, Alabama’s Kevin Thomas Jr. are just two of the USAC National stars expected to be on hand.  USAC/CRA point’s leader, Buena Park’s Brody Roa, and “The Demon” Damion Gardner of Concord are two of the top California natives expected to be contenders for the win this Friday.  Other drivers expected include Mike Spencer, who is the winningest USAC/CRA driver in the track’s history with 3 and Ocean Sprints point’s leader, Geoff Ensign of Sebastopol.  The Williams Brothers, Austin, Cody, and Logan are also expected.  Fresno’s Koen Shaw is expected to take the wings off and be in attendance as well. 

                The American Stocks will be back in action Friday night.  Last time out, Freedom’s Wally Kennedy won for the first time this season to become the ninth different driver to win this season in the division.  San Jose’s Robert Gallaher has a 76-point lead in the championship standings over Katie Briggs, also of San Jose.  Watsonville’s Tony Oliveira and San Martin’s JC Elrod are in third and fourth, 109 and 110 points behind Gallaher, respectively. 

                The Four Bangers’ penultimate race of the season is this Friday.  Back on August 25th, Logan Doglione of Hollister won for the third time this year after the original winner, San Jose’s Ray Bunn, was DQed in post-race tech.  Watsonville’s Dakota Keldsen is closing in on his first championship, as he holds a 13-point lead over Felton’s Bill Beardsley in the standings.  His older brother, DJ, won the championship in the division last year.   

                The Police-N-Pursuit for Special Olympics wraps up their season this Friday.  On August 25th, the “Task Force Racers” won for the second time in a row, with Tony Parker wheeling it to victory lane this time.  The CHP’s #720 team still sits atop the point standings, even after a tough outing last time out.  Terry Traub filled in for Jesse Mueller and crashed heavily in turn four.  Thankfully, he was OK.  Heading into the final race, the points couldn’t get much closer, as the CHP’s #720 leads the Task Force’s #5 by a single point.  Jesse Mueller is expected to return to the seat of his Mustang in pursuit of his first championship.

Advance tickets are available here:

NOTE: The Ocean Sprints pres. by Taco Bravo were erroneously put on the original schedule for this date.  The Ocean Sprints are NOT on this week’s schedule and will return to the track September 22nd.

                Pits are scheduled to open at 2pm and Grandstands will open at 4:30pm.  Pit passes are $45 for non-members and $40 for USAC and track members.  All seating is general admission and tickets cost $20 for adults and $16 for seniors.  New for 2017, Juniors 12-15 are $12 and Kids 6-11 are $6.  As always, Kids 5 and under are free.

Freedom’s Wally Kennedy will look for his second win of the season this Friday in the American Stock division.

Photo Credits to David Spencer.

social position advance

Share this post