CANCELLED – World of Outlaws March in to Watsonville This Friday!

CANCELLED – World of Outlaws March in to Watsonville This Friday!

Watsonville, CA – Ocean Speedway will kick off its 60th consecutive season of auto racing at the Santa Cruz County Fairgrounds this Friday, March 22nd with the World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series headlining the action.  So far on the Outlaws’ California stretch, teams fulltime on the tour have captured all three races held thus far with victories going to Ian Madsen, Carson Macedo, and Logan Schuchart. 

With last year’s rainout, the last World of Outlaws race held here was contested on April 1, 2016 and was won by Brad Sweet.  Shark Racing teammates Logan Schuchart and Jacob Allen both had outstanding runs to complete the podium.  Kerry Madsen and the late Jason Johnson completed the top five.  Johnson set Quick Time that night with an 11.482 lap time.  Donny Schatz earned hard charger honors with his sixth place run from 18th.  Shane Golobic was the top non-tour driver in 2016 with a ninth place finish in the 35-lap A-Main.

In five World of Outlaws sanctioned races, five different drivers have visited victory lane.  Joey Saldana was the first driver to win an Outlaws race here in 2000, with Andy Hillenburg and Brad Furr collecting wins in 2001 and 2002, respectively.  In 2008, “The King of the Outlaws” Steve Kinser grabbed the win, followed by Brad Sweet in 2016.  The all-time track record was set at the 2000 event and is owned by Mark Kinser, who stopped the clocks at a blistering 10.949 seconds. 

Some of the California natives expected to be in the mix Friday night include past 360 track champions Justin Sanders and Shane Golobic.  Tim Kaeding is coming off a third place in Stockton last Saturday and will look for two spots better this Friday aboard a second entry for Sides Motorsports.  Two-time Johnny Key Classic winner Rico Abreu will be on the hunt for his first win of the season Friday.  The two Californians on the Outlaws tour, Brad Sweet and Carson Macedo, are both surely going to be in contention for the win as well, with Sweet looking to become the first repeat winner in Outlaws competition at the track.  Macedo was the 2012 Ocean Sprints Rookie of the Year. 

This Friday’s race is also part of the World of Outlaws California Fire Relief Tour, with $1 of every ticket and $5 from every shirt sold going towards California fire relief.  Fans can also buy tickets to be given to area firefighters.  More information can be found HERE

The IMCA SportMods and Dwarf Cars will be in action too as they kick off their 2019 season.  IMCA drivers are reminded that they will need to provide proof of IMCA membership upon sign in.  They are available for purchase online HERE

Fan Tickets are available online by clicking HERE or by calling 1-844-DIRT-TIX (844-347-8849).

Photo Credits to Devin M. Photography and Chuck Fry.

social position advance

Share this post