2018 Ocean Speedway Season Concludes this Friday Night

2018 Ocean Speedway Season Concludes this Friday Night

Watsonville, CA – Ocean Speedway is set to wrap up its 59th consecutive season of racing this Friday night.  The Ocean Sprints pres. by Taco Bravo season has had five different winners in 14 rounds of racing, with Justin Sanders of Aromas and Stockton’s Brad Furr leading the way with four each.  Back on September 21st, Campbell’s Bud Kaeding won for the third time this season in dominating fashion.  Brad Furr, Gilroy’s Kurt Nelson, Jeremy Chisum of Salinas, and Fresno’s Koen Shaw completed the top five.  Heading in to the final night of racing, Furr will lock up his third career track championship by taking the green flag in the A-Main.  One-time 2018 Feature winner Koen Shaw is second in points, 56 behind Furr. 

                The IMCA SportMods have one final race this Friday, but have already crowned their 2018 champion after last week’s Pettit Shootout.  Morgan Hill’s Jim DiGiovanni is over a race’s worth point lead ahead of Anthony Giuliani, also of Morgan Hill.  This is Jim DiGiovanni’s second career track championship to go along with a 2016 title in the same division.  Last week at the Pettit, locals were shut out of victory lane as out-of-town racers Kevin Johnson of Bakersfield and Antioch’s Brent Curran each picked up main event wins.

                The American Stocks have a much more compelling points fight on their hands after the Pettit.  San Jose’s Matt Kile has a 10 point lead over Robert Gallaher, also of San Jose, heading in to the final night of 2018.  Gallaher won Friday’s portion of the Pettit Shootout, with Watsonville’s Billy Nelson taking the Saturday A-Main.  Matt Kile can lock up his second career track championship by earning 31 or more points throughout the night, regardless of what Robert Gallaher earns. 

                The South Bay Dwarf Cars are back on the card for the first time since August 17th.  San Jose’s Shawn Jones picked up his first A-Main win of the season, with Gene “Punky” Pires Jr., Hollister’s Ryan Ameln, Campbell’s Kyle Jones, and Morro Bay’s Joe Barket completing the top five.  The South Bay Dwarf Cars will have one more point race at Santa Maria later this month. 

                The race will be in honor of Al Frischmann, Jr., a longtime cook at the track, who passed away in August.  The family will host a 50/50 raffle with proceeds benefiting the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline

                Pits are scheduled to open at 2pm and Grandstands will open at 4:30pm.  Pit passes are $40 for IMCA and track members and $45 for non-members.  All seating is general admission and tickets cost $17 for adults and $16 for seniors.  Juniors 12-15 are $12 and Kids 6-11 are $8 and Kids 5 and under are free.

Photo credits to Michael J. Todd Photography.

social position advance

Share this post