21st Annual Mike Cecil Memorial Set to Take Place Saturday Night

21st Annual Mike Cecil Memorial Set to Take Place Saturday Night

Watsonville, CA – The prestigious and lucrative Mike Cecil Memorial is scheduled for this Saturday, August 4th.  $1,000 will be handed out to each main event winner in the IMCA Modified, IMCA SportMod, and American Stock divisions.  In the Modifieds, Bobby Hogge IV and Cody Burke of Salinas are two of the locals expected to be in attendance.  Hogge leads the way in the wins category this season and Burke has a comfortable lead in the track championship.  Last year, 40 drivers were in attendance, with Martinez’s Troy Foulger claiming the checkered flag.  Bobby Hogge IV, Bakersfield’s Robby Sawyer, Martinez’s Nick DeCarlo, and Chowchilla’s Randy Brown completed the top five at last year’s event. 

                In the IMCA SportMods, it’s anyone’s guess who will take the win and the big check this Saturday.  Austin Manzella of Bakersfield is on a recent hot streak, winning in all three of last three appearances at the track.  Grass Valley’s Andrew Peckham picked up a win at Night 2 of the Kaeding Classic and will look to return to victory lane this weekend.  At last year’s race, it was Yuba City’s Phillip Shelby coming out victorious.  Brentwood’s Fred Ryland was second and will be a favorite come this Saturday.  Todd Cooper, Rick Diaz, and Mark Hartman completed the top five at last year’s event.  Morgan Hill’s Jim Digiovanni leads the championship standings for the division by a wide margin over rookie Austin Williams of Gilroy. 

                The American Stocks have their annual endurance event at the Cecil race this weekend.  80 grueling laps stand between the drivers and a $1,000 check and the title of Mike Cecil Memorial champion.  San Jose’s Matt Kile and Robert Gallaher lead the way in the championship standings and will both be threats to take the win this Saturday.  San Martin’s JC Elrod is in third in the standings and has looked impressive the past several weeks.  One out-of-town car expected to be in contention is Nick Lawrence of Ceres.  Lawrence finished second in last week’s points show behind Corralitos’ Norm Ayers, who won for the first time since 2012.  At last year’s race, Merced’s Bruce “Bubba” Nelson won after a great battle with Nick Silva of Corralitos and Watsonville’s Billy Nelson.  Sam Kennedy of Watsonville and Joe Gallaher completed the top five. 

                We would like to thank all those that have supported this year’s Mike Cecil Memorial: D&L Pump Service, Bar’d Up Race Wraps, Johnson Pump Company, 1 Hour Drain, Shannon Pump Company, MyCars.com, Ryland Racing, Large’s Metal Fabrication, Dick’s Arco, Dick’s Towing, and C&N Tractors.  Remember to support those that support racing!

Advanced tickets are available here: https://market.myracepass.com/store/tickets/?i=1156446&store=12231

                Pits are scheduled to open at noon and Grandstands will open at 3:30pm.  Pit passes are $40 for IMCA and track members and $45 for non-members.  All seating is general admission and tickets cost $17 for adults and $16 for seniors.  Juniors 12-15 are $12 and Kids 6-11 are $8 and Kids 5 and under are free.  

social position advance

Share this post