32nd Annual Pombo/Sargent Classic Set for Friday Night at Ocean Speedway

32nd Annual Pombo/Sargent Classic Set for Friday Night at Ocean Speedway

Watsonville, CA – The King of the West/NARC 410 Sprint Car Series will make their first of two 2019 appearances at Ocean Speedway this Friday Night at the 32nd running of the Pombo/Sargent Classic.  Last year, Justin Sanders of Aromas added his name to the long list of previous winners at the prestigious event.  Sanders has momentum going in to Friday night as he is fresh off a win last week in 360 competition at the track.  Campbell’s Bud Kaeding is another driver that will certainly be in contention Friday.  Kaeding has already won at the track three times in 2019 in 360 action.  Paradise’s Kyle Hirst and Roseville’s Colby Copeland also picked up feature wins in the series’ other two appearances last season.  A large crop of series rookies are set to descend on the speedway, including past Ocean Sprint champion, Geoff Ensign of Sebastopol.  Tim Estenson of Fargo, ND and Oakley’s Matt DeMartini will both make their first ever appearances at the track on Friday. 

The IMCA Modifieds are back for the first time in over a month.  Back on May 17th at the Bill Egleston Memorial, Cody Burke of Salinas grabbed his second win of the season over some very stout competition.  Martinez’s Troy Foulger, Bakersfield’s Ethan Dotson, Prunedale’s Jim Pettit II, and Bay Point’s Danny Wagner completed the top five.  Cody Burke sits atop the championship standings with his brother Austin in second, four points behind. 

The South Bay Dwarf Cars are on the card after a week off.  On June 7th, San Jose’s Shawn Jones won his first feature of the season, stopping the winning streak of Mark Biscardi at three.  Santa Cruz’s Terre Rothweiler, Danny Wagner, Ballico’s Scott Dahlgren, and Los Banos’ Gene Pires Jr. rounded out the top five.

The 4-Bangers are scheduled for their eighth race of 2019 this Friday.  Prundedale’s John Grilli won his second main event of the season last week over Police in Pursuit graduate Roy Iler of Hollister.  Nicole and Kate Beardsley of Felton and Watsonville’s Jeff Finsand were the rest of the top five.  Kate Beardsley leads sister, Nicole, by just one point in the championship standings. 

The Western Midgets are back again for their fourth appearance.  Fresno’s David Prickett has been unstoppable so far in 2019 as he grabbed his third victory as part of a co-sanctioned show with BCRA on June 7th.  West Covina’s Joel Rayborne and Jackson Dukes of Clovis scored second and third in the division. 

Advance tickets are available here: https://market.myracepass.com/store/tickets/?i=1176048&store=12231

Pits are scheduled to open at 2pm and Grandstands will open at 4:30pm.  Pill draw will close at 4:30pm, with the driver’s meeting scheduled for 4:45pm.  Pit passes are $40 for track and IMCA members and $45 for non-members.  All seating is general admission and tickets cost $25 for adults, $15 for Juniors 12-15, Kids 6-11 are $9, and Kids 5 and under are free.

Photo Credits to David Spencer.

social position advance

Share this post