Andy Forsberg dominates Taco Bravo finale/ Shane Golobic becomes 2-time Ocean champion

Andy Forsberg dominates Taco Bravo finale/ Shane Golobic becomes 2-time Ocean champion

10561647_634260520026527_5089625217587065771_nShane Golobic wraps up second Ocean Sprints title as Andy Forsberg puts in a masterful drive to win the Taco Bravo finale on Friday

By Gary Thomas

Watsonville, CA – October 12, 2014…For the second consecutive year it was traveling visitor Andy Forsberg from Auburn racing to victory on championship night with the Ocean Sprints on Friday at the Ocean Speedway. Fremont’s Shane Golobic however, was the man of the hour as he locked up his second Taco Bravo title and celebrated on the front stretch in style.

After almost winning the penultimate event of the year on September 19, Forsberg came back and left no doubts during the finale on Friday, starting on the pole and putting on a clinic through lapped traffic. After a caution on lap two the 30-lapper went non-stop to its conclusion in a very fast paced contest.

“That was definitely my kind of track tonight and I couldn’t be happier to get a win here at Ocean Speedway,” said Forsberg, who claimed two Taco Bravo wins last season & also won opening night of the Trophy Cup when it was held at Ocean Speedway in 2000. “I’m really happy to get the 01 team a win and can’t thank them enough for letting me drive this car. We’ve been really good all year long. I want to thank all the fans for coming out supporting this place. It’s a great track and hope everyone comes back next year.”

Forsberg and Corralitos’ Jerry Bonnema drew the front for the final feature in 2014 and the seven-time Civil War Series champion would get the lead at the waving of the green flag. A red flag period for Fresno’s Anthony Simone was the only thing slowing the fast moving Forsberg, who drove through traffic like a magician and took the checkered flag by over two seconds for victory in the General Lee/ PT Shocks No. 01 machine. Forsberg was the 10th different winner on the season with the Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo.

One of the most entertaining battles on the track was the fight for second between Watsonville’s Justin Sanders and Shane Golobic. The duo raced closely together through heavy traffic at times until Sander’s was able to make a great move to take the spot that he wouldn’t relinquish. The runner up continued a great second half of the season for the driver of the North County Plastering/ Lancaster Locksmith No. 17 Sprinter.

“I would have liked to end the year with a victory here at my home track but we’ll take a second tonight after a great fight with Shane there,” Sanders commented. “We’ve really had this car rolling at Ocean Speedway over the second part of the season and hate to see the year end. I want to thank all our sponsors and everyone that helps out on this car.”

Golobic ended the race in third and it was good enough to give him his second Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo title. The 23-year-old joins Brent Kaeding and Tommy Tarlton as the third two-time champion at the quarter-mile since the Winged 360’s returned in 2007. It came aboard the Keith Day Trucking/ El Camino Body Shop No. 22 mount.

“We’re really excited to get this championship tonight and I can’t thank my whole team enough,” Golobic said with champagne flowing down his face. “It was really a great season overall and we definitely found some serious speed with this car. It means a lot to win the Taco Bravo title for the second time. Big thanks to all my family, friends and crew for the support that they give me. Now that we have the Taco Bravo title under our belts we look forward to completing the Civil War season on November 1 and hoping to get that one as well.”

Lemoore’s Carson Macedo earned the High Five Pizza Hard Charger Award coming from 13th to fourth in the feature. The 18-year-old also locked up a career best finish of second in the Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo points. Last year’s Ocean Sprints champion Brad Furr of Stockton had a nice rebound from the September event to round out the top-five in the main event. The top-10 was completed by Sedalia, Missouri’s Jonathan Cornell, Bonnema, Gilroy’s Kurt Nelson, Riverdale’s Landon Hurst and Hanford’s Mitchell Faccinto.

Heat race wins during the night went to Justin Sanders, Jerry Bonnema and Jonathan Cornell. Shane Golobic kicked off the night by setting his fourth Ray Scheidts Electric Fast Time Award of the season, tying Brad Furr for the most in 2014. Nick Green earned the Beer Optics Hard Luck Award after getting upside down lining up for his heat race. Full results are available at under the results tab.

Photos courtesy of David Spencer TDS Shots

social position advance

Share this post