Bill Egleston Memorial and First Responders Appreciation Night Set For Friday at Ocean Speedway

Bill Egleston Memorial and First Responders Appreciation Night Set For Friday at Ocean Speedway

Watsonville, CA – This Friday, Ocean Speedway will honor longtime California Modified competitor Bill Egleston, who passed away in January of 2018 after an accident at the Perris Auto Speedway.  Egleston would have turned 55 years old on May 15th.  Should Mother Nature allow, some of the best Modified drivers in the state will battle it out for the $2,015 top prize.  Cody Burke won the most recent weekly show for the division and will surely be a threat to take the win.  Hollister’s Anthony Copeland and Austin Burke came home second and third.  Martinez’s Troy Foulger came in fourth after starting tenth at May 3rd’s race.  Oakley’s Kellen Chadwick and Nick DeCarlo of Martinez are just two of the other top drivers expected to be in action.  Austin Burke leads his brother Cody in the weekly standings. 

The IMCA SportMods are also on the card for a $715-to-win show.  May 3rd featured a great preview of what’s to come Friday with many of the top drivers in the state in action.  Brentwood’s Fred Ryland picked up the win over Bakersfield’s Kevin Johnson.  Atwater’s Jarrod Mounce and the current IMCA Northern SportMod state point leader, Guy Ahlwardt of Antioch, were third and fourth, with Prunedale’s TJ Etchison completing the top five.  Watsonville’s Adriane Frost leads Gilroy’s Austin Williams in the weekly standings. 

The Hobby Stocks also have an increased purse with a $515-to-win feature Friday.  Last week, San Jose’s Rob Gallaher grabbed his second feature win of the year.  Santa Cruz’s Bobby Huckaby Sr., Joe Gallaher, Wally Kennedy of Freedom, and Watsonville’s Terry Traub completed the top five.  Rob and Joe Gallaher sit atop the unadjusted weekly point standings.  All driver’s will drop their two lowest scoring nights in 2019 to determine a champion in the division.  

The 4-Bangers are scheduled for action as well.  Watsonville’s Dakota Keldsen dominated the A-Main last week and will look for two in a row this week.  Nicole and Kate Beardsley of Felton completed the podium last week.  The sisters are currently tied for the lead in the championship. 

As part of First Responders Appreciation Night, the Police in Pursuit for Special Olympics has their second race of the season this Friday.  Back on April 19th, Cliff Sloma of the Capitola PD took the win.  Scotts Valley PD’s John Hohmann crashed hard in the final moments of the race, but with the race ending under caution and scorers reverting to the last completed lap, was awarded second with Jesse Mueller of the CHP in third. 

Advance tickets are available here:

Pits are tentatively scheduled to open at 2pm and Grandstands will open at 4:30pm.  Pill draw will close at 4:30pm.  Driver’s meeting is scheduled for 4:45pm.  Pit passes are $40 for IMCA and track members and $45 for non-members.  All seating is general admission and tickets cost $18 for adults and $16 for seniors.  Juniors 12-15 are $12 and Kids 6-11 are $9 and Kids 5 and under are free.

Photo Credits to David Spencer.

social position advance

Share this post