Bud Kaeding returns to Ocean Speedway victory lane Friday

Bud Kaeding returns to Ocean Speedway victory lane Friday

Bud Kaeding snags Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo round three

By Gary Thomas

Watsonville, CA – April 9, 2021…After coming close on several occasions this past year Campbell, California’s Bud Kaeding proceeded to seal the deal on Friday night and return the famed Al’s Roofing Supply/ Alviso Rock No. 69 to Ocean Speedway victory lane.

Also scooping up wins at the Watsonville bullring on Friday were Fred Ryland with the IMCA Sport Mods, Joe Gallaher with the Hobby Stocks, Richard Mitchell in the Four Bangers and Roy ller with Police N Pursuit.

For Kaeding it marked his initial Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo triumph since July of 2019. At the waving of the green flag it was Fremont’s Tristan Guardino who jumped into the lead. Kaeding showed his muscle quickly however, as he jumped up top and charged into second on lap two. The former KWS-NARC champ then rocketed around the outside of Guardino to assume the lead on lap four that he would never relinquish.

Two-time Ocean Sprints winner already this year Justin Sanders of Aromas then carved his way to second with nine-laps complete. This night belonged to Kaeding though as he withstood a couple of yellow flag periods and held a steady advantage for the duration, before accepting the Ed Entz checkered flag over Sanders, Lincoln brothers Blake and Tanner Carrick, and Fremont’s Shane Golobic. Some of the best action during the 30-lapper came between positions three through 10, prior to taking rubber over the final stages.

Finishing sixth through 10th were Guardino, Chase Majdic, Colby Copeland, Kalib Henry and Sean Becker. The B-main went to Henry, while Tanner Carrick picked off the Dash. Heat race wins were captured by Bud Kaeding, DJ Netto, Keith Day Jr. and Guardino. Kaeding started the night by pacing the 36-car field in qualifying with a lap of 10.549 around the quarter-mile.

Ocean Sprints A-main finish: 1. 69 Bud Kaeding 2. 17 Justin Sanders 3. 38B Blake Carrick 4. 83T Tanner Carrick 5. 17W Shane Golobic 6. 15T Tristan Guardino 7. 2X Chase Majdic 8. 5V Colby Copeland 9. 5J Kalib Henry 10. 83V Sean Becker 11. 88 Kyle Offill 12. 37 Mitchell Faccinto 13. 72W Kurt Nelson 14. 46JR Joel Myers 15. 5C Trent Canales 16. 88A Joey Ancona 17. 88N D.J. Netto 18. 2XM Max Mittry 19. 22 Keith Day Jr. 20. 8 Jeremy Chisum 21. 18T Tanner Holmes 22. 88K Koen Shaw

Whenever Brentwood’s Fred Ryland signs in at the back gate you know he is going to be tough to beat and that was certainly the case on Friday. Ryland raced to victory for the second week in a row after making the move around Billy Robertson on a lap one restart. It didn’t come ultra-easy for Ryland however, as Randy Miller kept pace for much of the 20-lap feature. At the checkered it was Ryland picking up the win over Miller, Jim DiGiovanni, Adriane Frost and Trevor Clymens.

When the green flag waved in the Hobby Stock feature it was the No. 51 machine of Norm Ayers jumping into the lead. Joe Gallaher showed immense speed though and charged to the top-spot on lap five. After a while he then felt pressure from Rob Gallaher he carved his way through the field to make it a close contest up front. The older Gallaher hit his marks however and held off all challenges to pick up the victory after coming home second the previous week. Rob Gallaher, Adriane Frost, Ayers and Brady Muller.

Some of the best racing of the night was presented in the Four Banger division on Friday. Richard Mitchell and Tony Gullo put on a show for the ages going back and forth in the race for the lead. Several lead changes occurred in the 15-lap race and at the end it was Mitchell fending off Gullo to pick up the exciting victory. Nicole Beardsley, Kate Beardsley and Travis VanGiler completed the top-five.

Roy ller picked up the win during the first Police N Pursuit race of the year. He inherited the top-spot late in the going when Jesse Mueller found issues just shy of the finish. John Hohmann, Jacki Yeung, Mueller and Pat Sullivan were the top-five.

Racing returns to Ocean Speedway next Friday April 16th and with the grandstands still closed all the action can be seen via FloRacing. It was just announced this week however, that fans will return in the grandstands on May 7th.

Photo courtesy of Joe Shivak Imagery

social position advance

Share this post