Burke, Mulder, Campion, Keldsen win July 8th at Ocean Speedway

Burke, Mulder, Campion, Keldsen win July 8th at Ocean Speedway

Cody Burke, Paul Mulder, Terry Campion, and DJ Keldsen all take first wins of 2016!

By Sean Stanish

Watsonville, CA – Cody Burke of Salinas became the first person not named ‘Hogge’ to win in the IMCA Modifieds this season.  Bobby Hogge IV, the previously undefeated winner this season, suffered mechanical difficulties in the heat race and was not able to make it out for the feature.  In the first of two heat races, Austin Burke narrowly picked up the win over Hollister’s Andy Obertello.  Cody Burke, Hollister’s Anthony Copeland, and Salinas’ Robert Marsh completed the top five.  In the second heat, Alex Wilson of Salinas took the victory over Aromas’ Raymond Keldsen and Capitola’s Kyle Bryan.  Watsonville’s Todd Hermosillo and Bobby Hogge IV rounded out the field.  In the 25-lap A-Main, Andy Obertello jumped out to the early lead, a lapped car got in the way and the two collided on lap nine.  This gave the lead to Robert Marsh, but Cody Burke was on his heels.  The duo fought side-by-side f13646740_10205014833568990_1722532763_oor several laps before it was interrupted by a caution for Kyle Bryan, who spun in turn four.  On the restart, Robert Marsh slid up the track just enough for Cody Burke to get credit for leading the lap. Soon after, Kyle Bryan would spin once again, bringing his night to an end.  On the restart, Cody Burke checked out from the field, while Robert Marsh’s evening came to an end with mechanical dramas.  Cody Burke went on to win by two and a half seconds over Andy Obertello, who managed to pull off a runner-up finish after his earlier mishap.  Alex Wilson, Austin Burke, and Todd Hermosillo completed the top five.  The IMCA Modifieds have a week off and return July 22nd.

Doug Hagio made a one-off appearance in the IMCA Sport Mods and wound up in victory lane.  However, he was eventually DQed for reportedly being light at scales.  The biggest car count of the season forced two heat races for the division, with Turlock’s Chris Falkenberg winning the first.  Atascadero’s Donnie Hampl, Morgan Hill’s Jim DiGiovanni, San Jose’s Charlie Hunter, and San Martin’s Justin McPherson rounded out the top five in heat one.  In the second heat, rookie Shane DeVolder took the win over Doug Hagio, Pleasonton’s Paul Mulder, Atascadero’s Aaron Farrell, and Watsonville’s Adriane Frost.  In the 20-lap feature, outside pole-sitter Paul Mulder led one lap before the first caution came out.  Charlie Hunter spun in turn one, collecting point leader Jim DiGiovanni and Adriane Frost.  One lap after the restart, a scary incident in turn one unfolded when Donnie Hampl flipped two times while racing with Frost.  Fortunately, Hampl was uninjured.  Paul Mulder continued to lead for the time being, but Chris Flakenberg made his move for the top spot soon after the restart.  The pair traded the lead several times before Falkenberg eventually pulled away.  The next caution came out on lap ten for Adriane Frost, who slowed in turns one and two.  Another yellow came out soon after, this time for Justin McPherson, keeping the fie13699546_10205014762407211_2117071403_old bunched up.  Chris Falkenberg was still out front, but Doug Hagio was up to third, and quickly made his move around Paul Mulder for second.  Hagio then passed Falkenberg for the lead on lap 14.  The final yellow came out one lap later, for Falkenberg, who spun in turns three and four.  On the restart, Doug Hagio pulled away to take the win by one and half seconds over Paul Mulder.  But with the disqualification, Paul Mulder was credited with his first win of the season.  Justin McPherson, Shane DeVolder, San Jose’s Matt Kile, and Duane Bieser of Salinas were the rest of the adjusted top five.  The IMCA Sport Mods are also off until July 22nd.

In the American Stocks, Santa Cruz’s Terry Campion broke through for his first win of the year.  Campion also took the heat race win over William Kennedy of Freedom, Gilroy’s Nick Triolo, San Jose’s Katie Briggs, and Watsonville’s Tony Oliveira.  In the shortened 15-lap feature, Tony Oliveira led one circuit before Terry Campion bro13681992_10205014780207656_149451694_ought out the yellow for stopping on the back stretch.  Oliveira battled with Nick Triolo for the lead, while Campion charged through the field.  Campion was up to second by the time the second and final caution came out on lap seven for William Kennedy, who suffered a flat right rear.  On the restart, Terry Campion made his way around Oliviera for the lead.  Campion pulled out to a three second lead by the finish over Nick Triolo.  Tony Oliviera finished third and Katie Briggs came in fourth to take the lead in the championship standings. Watsonville’s George Fernandez was fifth.  The American Stocks are racing at the Howard Kaeding Classic this Friday.

In the 4-Bangers, Prunedale’s DJ Keldsen shook the monkey off his back and grabbed his first win of the 2016 campaign Friday night.  Keldsen also picked up the heat race victory.  Manteca’s Jason Womack, Aromas’ Paul Laoretti, Santa Cruz’s Mark Fields, and Felton’s Bill Beardsley completed the field.  In the abbreviated 12-lap feature, Keldsen, Laoretti, and Womack came together on the opening lap.  Womack had to be towed13646755_10205014774407511_231345771_o
off the track, Keldsen went to the work area and Laoretti was able to stay out on track.  This gave the lead to Mark Fields, but on the restart, Fields’ car didn’t turn in the second corner and launched over the banking and into the pit area.  Luckily, Fields and everyone in the pits were OK.  Meanwhile, DJ Keldsen’s team completed repairs and he returned to the track.  Bill Beardsley led a couple laps while fending off Paul Laoretti and Keldsen.  Beardsley relinquished the lead to DJ Keldsen on lap four, who then gapped the field and won by nearly six seconds over Paul Laoretti and Bill Beardsley.  The 4-Bangers return July 22nd.


Photo credits to Racing Edge Video Productions & Photo

social position advance

Share this post