Champions to be Crowned This Friday at Ocean Speedway

Champions to be Crowned This Friday at Ocean Speedway

Watsonville, CA – The 60th season of auto racing at the Santa Cruz County Fairgrounds in Watsonville will come to a conclusion this Friday night.  Two extremely tight point battles will be the center of attention come race day, with Campbell’s Bud Kaeding leading Morgan Hill’s JJ Ringo by one point in the Ocean Sprints pres. by Taco Bravo and Kate Beardsley leads her sister, Nicole, by one point in the Four Bangers.

Way back on August 23rd, Aromas’ Justin Sanders drove to victory lane for the fifth time this season and the third time in a row.  Riverdale’s Landon Hurst came home second after an impressive drive from the infrequent visitor.  Campbell’s Brent Kaeding made his return to the seat of a sprint car and finished third, with Grant Duinkerken of Riverdale and JJ Ringo completing the top five.  Ringo is poised to lock up Rookie of the Year honors, but Ringo and his Keller Motorsports team is on the prowl for a championship to go along with it.  While Bud Kaeding has been one of the winningest drivers in the history of the Ocean Sprints, this would be his first track championship.  Fresno’s Koen Shaw sits third in points and needs some help to have a shot at the championship, as he is 29 points behind Kaeding. 

In the 4-Bangers, consistency has been the key to success once again.  While neither Kate nor Nicole Beardsley has a win to their credit in 2019, they each have ten top five finishes in twelve races and have been in attendance for every race this season.  Back on August 23rd, Prunedale’s John Grilli won his fourth feature of the year.  Ryan McClelland of Scotts Valley, Hollister’s Roy Iler, San Jose’s Chuck Kessinger, and Nicole Beardsley rounded out the top five. 

The IMCA SportMods have one more race this Friday, even though the championship has been decided.  Atwater’s Jarrod Mounce has locked up the 2019 championship, as he has more than a 40 point lead over Watsonville’s Adriane Frost.  Last week, Brent Curran and Guy Ahlwardt, both of Antioch, picked up wins at the Pat and Jim Pettit Shootout. 

The championship for the Hobby Stocks has been all but wrapped up by San Jose’s Robert Gallaher, the third of his career.  He currently has a 50 point lead over his father, Joe.  Last week at the Pettit, Robert Gallaher and Matt Kile of San Jose grabbed the wins. 

Advance grandstand tickets are available here:

Pits are scheduled to open at 2pm and Grandstands will open at 4:30pm.  Pill draw will close at 4:30pm.  The driver’s meeting is scheduled for 4:45pm.  Pit passes are $40 for track members and $45 for non-members.  All seating is general admission and tickets cost $18 for adults and $16 for seniors.  Juniors 12-15 are $12 and Kids 6-11 are $9 and Kids 5 and under are free.

Photo Credits to David Spencer. 

social position advance

Share this post