Civil War Series Presented by Flowmaster Returns to Ocean Speedway Saturday For $5K-To-Win 57th Johnny Key Classic

Civil War Series Presented by Flowmaster Returns to Ocean Speedway Saturday For $5K-To-Win 57th Johnny Key Classic



(PETERSEN MEDIA- Aptos, CA, )- Saturday night in Watsonville, CA many of the state’s top racers will be packed into the Ocean Speedway pit area vying for the $5000 and commemorative helmet that go along with winning the 57th Annual Johnny Key Classic.


In what acts as the series’ penultimate event for the 2017 season, a star-studded field is expected to be on hand looking to race their way into the $5000-to-win, $400-to-start 50-lap Johnny Key Classic feature event.


Over the years the Johnny Key Classic has been one of the most highly anticipated events of the year, and this year again proves to be no different with a number of past event champions slated to be in action including 2016 winner, Justin Sanders, 2015 winner and current series point leaders, Andy Forsberg, and 1996 winner Bud Kaeding looking to repeat as Key Champions.


In the series’ most recent event on July 14th at Ocean Speedway, Kyle Hirst and Michael Kofoid engaged in a thrilling battle that had the crowd on their feet for much of the race. In the end, it was Hirst getting his 11th career series win, as Kofoid settled for second. Since that night, both drivers have stayed red hot and both will be in action on Saturday night looking to add their name to the Johnny Key Classic history books.


The 2017 edition of the Johnny Key Classic will be a little different than past Key races. Normally utilizing a special format, the 57th running of the race will stick with a standard Civil War Series format that will see all drivers time in, run a heat race, offer a dash, as well as a semi and a feature event. The feature event will still be 50-laps with a scheduled red-flag coming around the halfway point allowing teams to make changes in front of the fans.


Other drivers that will be in action on Saturday night include Geoff Ensign, who sits second in series points and leads Ocean Speedway points, Brad Furr, who sits second in Ocean Speedway points, Gio Scelzi, DJ Netto, Mitchell Faccinto, Koen Shaw, Jason, Jeremy, and Josh Chisum, Kurt Nelson, Jerry Bonnema, Dustin Golobic, Brad Bumgarner, Jarrett Soares and a host of others.


Please note that the action will kick off one earlier than normal at the Ocean Speedway on Saturday night as the pit gates will open at 1pm, the main grandstands will open at 330pm, with qualifying slated for 5pm.


Tickets can be purchased on Saturday, or can be purchased online by clicking over to, and selecting the fan tab under Ocean Speedway.


Past Key Winners-


Johnny Key Classic Champions


1954 Danny Graves

1955 Al Pombo

1956 Clyde Palmer

1957 Ray Raineri

1958 Rick Henderson

1959 George Benson

1960 Marshall Sargent

1961 Clyde Palmer

1962 Clyde Palmer(3)

1963 Marshall Sargent

1964 George Snider

1965 Burt Foland

1966 Burt Foland(2)

1967 Bill Scott

1968 Howard Kaeding

1969 Bill Scott(2)

1970 Don Epperson

1971 Everett Edlund

1972 Nick Rescino

1973 Howard Kaeding

1974 Nick Rescino

1975 Nick Rescino

1976 Tony Ringo

1977 Danny O’Neill

1978 Johnny Brazil

1979 Howard Kaeding

1980 Brent Kaeding

1981 Mike Sargent

1982 Nick Rescino

1983 John Viel

1984 Nick Rescino

1985 Rich Voss

1986 Nick Rescino(6)

1987 Howard Kaeding(4)

1988 Rod Spencer

1989 Scott Luhdorff

1990 Danny Olmstead

1991 Terry McCarl

1992 Scott Luhdorff(2)

1993 Chuck Miller

1994 Chuck Miller(2)

1995 Rick Martin

1996 Bud Kaeding

1997 Craig Smith

1998 Ronnie Day

1999 Eric Rossi

2007 Jason Statler

2008 Brent Kaeding (2)

2009 Tommy Tarlton

2010 Tim Kaeding

2011 Ronnie Day (2)

2012 Tommy Tarlton (2)

2013 Rico Abreu

2014 Rico Abreu (2)

2015 Andy Forsberg

2016 Justin Sanders



2017 Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster Schedule


8/12 Ocean Speedway- Johnny Key Classic $5000 to win!

9/6 Silver Dollar Speedway- Gold Cup


ON TAP: The Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster returns to Ocean Speedway on August 12th for the $5000-to-win Johnny Key Classic.


2017 WINNERS: Shane Golobic (March 11th Silver Dollar Speedway), Andy Forsberg (March 31st Silver Dollar Speedway), Andy Forsberg (May 27th Marysville Raceway), Kyle Hirst (May 28th Silver Dollar Speedway), Andy Forsberg (July 1st Marysville Raceway), Kyle Hirst (July 14th Ocean Speedway).


STAY CONNECTED: Keep up with the Civil War Series Presented By Flowmaster, and find complete results and point standings by clicking over to, ‘Liking’, or following us on twitter at For more information on Flowmaster, please visit


CIVIL WAR SERIES PRESENTED BY FLOWMASTER- Founded in 1991 as the North-South Series, the Civil War Sprint Car Series was born in 1993 giving 360ci Sprint Cars in California a sanctioning body. What started as just a handful of races at three different tracks has evolved into quite the series. In 2017, the Civil War Sprint Car Series will host 9 events at 4 different tracks around California.




social position advance

Share this post