Cody Burke Picks Up Big Win at Bill Egleston Memorial, Mounce, Elrod, Ragsdale, and Hohmann Also Victorious

Cody Burke Picks Up Big Win at Bill Egleston Memorial, Mounce, Elrod, Ragsdale, and Hohmann Also Victorious

Watsonville, CA – Mother Nature stepped aside just long enough to allow the Bill Egleston Memorial to take place Friday night with Cody Burke of Salinas taking top honors.  Martinez’s Troy Foulger led the way early and looked good out front, even with getting up on the bike a couple times.  Austin Burke, Jim Pettit II of Prunedale, Bakersfield’s Ethan Dotson, and Cody Burke battled hard for second behind Foulger as he started to pull away.  Cody Burke made short work of the field and was up to second as Foulger started to enter lapped traffic.  Cody Burke brought Jim Pettit II with him as they challenged Troy Foulger for the lead.  On lap 16, Burke pounced to take the lead down the back stretch, but Foulger fought back quickly to lead the next lap.  A caution on lap 19 for Bobby Hogge IV of Salinas, who stopped in turn four, put the intense action on pause momentarily.  On the restart, Troy Foulger made a slight bobble in turns three and four and that was all that Cody Burke needed to regain the top spot to lead lap 20.  Another caution lap 24 for Morgan Hill’s Anthony Giuliani set up a one lap dash to checkered flag.  Cody Burke was able to hang on to take the victory and the $2,015 prize as well.  Troy Foulger, Ethan Dotson, Jim Pettit II, and Bay Point’s Danny Wagner completed the top five.  Foulger, Hollister’s andy Obertello, Austin Burke, and Prunedale’s Tim Balding picked up heat race wins, with the B-Main going to Robert Marsh of Salinas. 

Atwater’s Jarrod Mounce broke through for his first career IMCA SportMod victory at the Egleston Memorial.  Mounce led every lap on his way to the win, but had to hold off some stiff competition to do so.  Mounce showed the way around the track and his blistering pace meant that he caught up to lapped traffic quickly.  One of the first drivers to go down a lap was San Jose’s Charlie Hunter, who also would bring out the red flag on lap seven.  Hunter went too wide out of turn two, tagged the wall, and flipped once.  Thankfully, he was OK.  On the restart, Mounce led the IMCA state points leader Guy Ahlwardt of Antioch and Bakersfield’s Kevin Johnson, with another caution on lap 12 for Prunedale’s Max Baggett, who spun in turn four.  Mounce would be able to survive the pressure from Ahlwardt to pick up his first career win by just half a second.  Kevin Johnson, Clay Daly of Watsonville, and Gilroy’s Austin Williams completed the top five.  Williams was on a charge through the field and gained 12 spots in the A-Main.  Jarrod Mounce, Kevin Johnson, and Guy Ahwardt won the heat races. 

San Martin’s JC Elrod is now two-for-two in Hobby Stock action when he is in attendance.  Elrod won on Opening Night, but took a couple weeks off as he prepares to make his Modified debut.  Elrod didn’t participate in the heat race after discovering a radiator leak after hot laps.  While Elrod was mired in the back of the pack at the start, Bakersfield visitor Nicholas Johnson led the way early.  Elrod charged through the pack and was up to second by the ninth lap.  On lap 14, JC Elrod caught and then passed Nicholas Johnson for the lead.  The one and only caution would come out soon after for Santa Cruz’s Robert Huckaby Jr., who stopped in turns one and two.  Elrod would go unchallenged on the restart and pull away to take the win.  Nicholas Johnson would come home second in his first ever appearance at the track.  Freedom’s Wally Kennedy and DJ Keldsen were third and fourth, with last week’s winner Rob Gallaher of San Jose settling for fifth.  Robert Huckaby Sr. and Joe Gallaher won the pair of heat races.

The 4-Bangers had a bit of a rough and controversial A-Main.  The record books will show that Winton’s Lee Ragsdale picked up the win, but the Merced Speedway regular crossed the line second.  Scott’s Valley’s Ryan McClelland started on pole and led early with last week’s winner Dakota Keldsen of Watsonville trying to fight through the field.  Keldsen would catch McClelland and the two would come to blows as they tried to get around a lapped car on lap nine.  McClelland lost his bumper in the accident, a detail that would come back to bite him later.  Keldsen’s right rear wheel was knocked over at a severe angle but continued.  Two laps later, Keldsen appeared to lose an engine coming out of turn four, eventually skidding out on the entry of turn one.  Simultaneously, Watsonville’s Tony Gullo, who was up to second, lost a tire and slapped the turn four wall.  With four laps left to run, Lee Ragsdale was now out front ahead of Nicole and Kate Beardsley and Ryan McClelland.  McClelland made quick work of the Beardsleys and passed Ragsdale for the lead as they took the white flag.  McClelland would cross the line first, but was DQed for the bumper infraction after another driver protested his car.  This gave Lee Ragsdale the win ahead of all of the Beardsley family: Kate, Nicole, and father Bill.  McClelland and Keldsen won the heat races. 

John Hohmann of the Scotts Valley PD grabbed the win in the second Police in Pursuit race of the year.  Hohmann dominated the green-to-checker feature and led every lap.  Roy Iler of the San Benito County Sheriff’s Office and Justin Rhodes of the CHP were a distant second and third.  Cliff Sloma of the Capitola PD charged from his twelve starting spot to take fourth, with Dan Anderson from the Task Force completing the top five.  Hohmann and Iler won the heat races for the division. 

The track will be dark this Friday for the Memorial Day weekend.  The track will come back to life on May 31st with the Ocean Sprints, IMCA SportMods, Hobby Stocks, Dwarf Cars, and 4-Bangers. 

Advance tickets to the races scheduled for Friday, May 31st are available here:

Pits are scheduled to open at 2pm and Grandstands will open at 4:30pm.  Pill draw will close at 4:30pm, with the driver’s meeting scheduled for 4:45pm.  Pit passes are $40 for track and IMCA members and $45 for non-members.  All seating is general admission and tickets cost $18 for adults and $16 for seniors.  Juniors 12-15 are $12 and Kids 6-11 are $9 and Kids 5 and under are free.

social position advance

Share this post