Ocean Speedway Back in Action on Friday Night After Week Off

Ocean Speedway Back in Action on Friday Night After Week Off

Watsonville, CA – With the Independence Day holiday in the rear view mirror, Ocean Speedway returns to action on Friday with a five division program.  The Ocean Sprints have their ninth race of the season this week.  Lemoore’s Cole Macedo broke through for his first win of his Ocean Sprints career last time out.  Campbell’s Bud Kaeding tried his best, but had to settle for second.  Corralitos’ Jerry Bonnema, Jason Chisum and Keith Day Jr., both of Salinas, all had their best runs of the season with top five finishes.  This was Day’s first career top five behind the wheel of a Sprint Car.  Including the two dropped races, Bud Kaeding has a 59 point lead over Stockton’s Brad Furr and a 65 point lead ahead of Morgan Hill’s JJ Ringo. 

The IMCA Modifieds are back after a great race on June 28th.  Martinez’s Nick DeCarlo won for the first time this season after a last lap pass on Austin Burke of Salinas.  Morgan Hill’s Anthony Giuliani impressed and took home a second place finish with Burke slipping to third.  Jim Pettit II of Prunedale and Cody Burke completed the top five.  The Burke brothers are tied atop the point standings.

The Dwarf Cars are back on the schedule this week.  Back on June 21st, San Jose’s Shawn Jones won his second feature in a row with Mark Biscardi, the only other driver to win a main event this season, in second.  Hollister’s Ryan Ameln, Los Banos’ Punky Pires, and Campbell’s Eric Weisler rounded out the top five. 

The 4-Bangers are scheduled for this Friday after a race week off.  Past champion DJ Keldsen drove to victory lane for the first time in 2019 after an entertaining race with Dinuba’s Shawn DePriest who came in second.  Hollister’s Roy Iler, Santa Cruz’s Adam Sabedra, and Prunedale’s John Grilli completed the top five.  The Beardsley family has a stranglehold on the championship standings.  Kate leads her sister Nicole by one point, with father Bill sitting in third. 

The Police in Pursuit are on the card for the second race in a row.  John Hohmann of the Scotts Valley PD dominated the main event to collect his second win of the season.  AJ Waltrip of the Santa Cruz County Sheriff’s Office and Justin Rhodes of the CHP completed the podium.  Hohmann has a sizable 26 point lead ahead of Justin Rhodes in the championship standings. 

Advance tickets are available here: https://market.myracepass.com/store/tickets/?i=1176075&store=12231

Pits are scheduled to open at 2pm and Grandstands will open at 4:30pm.  Pill draw will close at 4:30pm.  The driver’s meeting is scheduled for 4:45pm.  Pit passes are $40 for IMCA and track members and $45 for non-members.  All seating is general admission and tickets cost $18 for adults and $16 for seniors.  Juniors 12-15 are $12 and Kids 6-11 are $9 and Kids 5 and under are free.

Photo Credits to David Spencer.

social position advance

Share this post