Ocean Speedway Fires Back Up Friday, July 6th

Ocean Speedway Fires Back Up Friday, July 6th

Watsonville, CA – After the traditional Friday before the 4th of July holiday off, Ocean Speedway returns to action this Friday.  The Ocean Sprints pres. by Taco Bravo headline the night’s racing program, with Fresno’s Koen Shaw leading the way.  The long-time supporter of the speedway finally broke through for his first career Ocean Sprints win back on June 15th.  Shaw held off Ryan Bernal of Hollister, Tracy’s Kyle Offill, Fresno’s Tommy Tarlton, and Lemoore’s Cole Macedo the pick up the popular victory.  Shaw also leads the championship standings by 25 points over Stockton’s Brad Furr.  Kyle Offill, Jeremy Chisum of Salinas and Gilroy’s Kurt Nelson complete the top five in the current standings. 

                In the IMCA Modifieds, last year’s track champion Martinez’s Nick DeCarlo grabbed his first win of the season at the last race.  Fellow Martinez competitor Troy Foulger came home second, with multi-time track champion Bobby Hogge IV of Salinas finishing third.  The Burke brothers, Austin and Cody, finished fourth and fifth, respectively.  Cody Burke leads the point standings by 8 markers over Austin Burke and 15 points over Alex Wilson. 

                The IMCA SportMods are on the card for their ninth race of the year.  At their last race, Prunedale’s Matthew Hagio collected his third win of the season over Jim DiGiovanni of Morgan Hill, Tracy’s KC Keller, Morgan Hill’s Anthony Giuliani, and Atwater’s Tanner Thomas.  Jim DiGiovanni may be winless thus far in 2018, but consistency has proven vital for his championship hopes.  He leads Anthony Giuliani by 25 points in the standings.  Matthew Hagio finds himself down in third in points, 38 behind DiGiovanni, after missing a race earlier in the season. 

                The American Stock division is the site of an exciting back-and-forth battle between two San Jose combatants.  Matt Kile and Robert Gallaher each have three wins to their credit, with Kile the latest to add his name to the three win club back on June 15th.  Gallaher, his father, Joe, Tony Oliveira and DJ Keldsen of Watsonville completed the top five at their last event.  Factoring in the two drop dates, Kile has just a 2 point lead over Robert Gallaher and a 39 point lead over San Martin’s JC Elrod. 

                The Four Bangers have just three races left in their 2018 season.  Back on June 15th, Watsonville’s Abigail Kennedy grabbed her first career feature win and became the seventh different winner in seven races.  Dakota Keldsen, also of Watsonville and Felton’s Nicole Beardsely completed the podium.  The 2018 Four Banger championship is still far from being decided, with Dakota Keldsen leading the way with a 2 point advantage over Abigail Kennedy.  Nicole, Kate, and Bill Beardsley are 7, 13, and 19 points out of the lead, respectively. 

Advance tickets are available online here: https://market.myracepass.com/store/tickets/?i=1153941&store=12231

                Pits are scheduled to open at 2pm and Grandstands will open at 4:30pm.  Pit passes are $40 for track and IMCA members and $45 for non-members.  All seating is general admission and tickets cost $17 for adults and $16 seniors.  Juniors 12-15 are $12 and Kids 6-11 are $6 and Kids 5 and under are free.  

Photo Credits to Joe Shivak Imagery

social position advance

Share this post