Ocean Speedway Returns to Action Friday with Five Division Program After Week Off

Ocean Speedway Returns to Action Friday with Five Division Program After Week Off

Watsonville, CA – After a week off for the Memorial Day holiday, racing will return to Ocean Speedway this Friday night.  Headlining the five division show are the Ocean Sprints pres. by Taco Bravo.  Back on May 10th, Aromas’ Justin Sanders was practically untouchable and won for the first time in the 2019 season.  Second went to Koen Shaw of Fresno, who picked up Hard Charger honors at the event.  Campbell’s Bud Kaeding and Morgan Hill’s JJ Ringo had a thrilling battle throughout the race and finished third and fourth, with Stockton’s Brad Furr completing the top five.  Jeremy Chisum of Salinas leads the unadjusted point standings.  All drivers will drop their two lowest scoring nights.  Two of the top drivers out of the Central Valley in Hanford’s Mitchell Faccinto and Lemoore’s Cole Macedo are scheduled to be in action in Watsonville this Friday. 

The IMCA SportMods are coming off a great race at the Bill Egleston Memorial back on May 17th.  Atwater’s Jarrod Mounce collected his first career victory at the marquee event, holding off the IMCA Northern SportMod state point leader, Guy Ahlwardt of Antioch.  Bakersfield’s Kevin Johnson and Watsonville’s Clay Daly, driving Austin Manzella’s car, were third and fourth.  Gilroy’s Austin Williams picked up twelve spots in the feature to grab fifth and take over the lead in the championship standings. 

The Hobby Stocks are also back after competing at the Egleston Memorial.  San Martin’s JC Elrod charged from the back row to collect his second win of the season.  Bakersfield visitor Nicholas Johnson, Freedom’s Wally Kennedy, DJ Keldsen, and San Jose’s Rob Gallaher completed the top five. Rob Gallaher leads the unadjusted point standings for the division.  All drivers will drop their two lowest scoring nights. 

The South Bay Dwarf Cars are in attendance for the first time in over a month.  On April 26th, San Jose’s Mark Biscardi remained undefeated and won for the second time in 2019.  Hollister’s Ryan Ameln, Campbell’s Eric Weisler, San Jose’s Shawn Jones, and Los Banos’ Gene Pires Jr. completed the top five. 

The 4-Bangers are back once again after a controversial race last time out.  Winton’s Lee Ragsdale was credited with the win after the original winner was DQed.  The Beardsley family of Kate, Nicole, and Bill completed the four cars that finished.  Kate and Nicole are tied for the lead in the point standings.    

Advance tickets are available here: https://market.myracepass.com/store/tickets/?i=1176003&store=12231

Pits are scheduled to open at 2pm and Grandstands will open at 4:30pm.  Pill draw will close at 4:30pm.  Driver’s meeting is scheduled for 4:45pm.  Pit passes are $40 for IMCA and track members and $45 for non-members.  All seating is general admission and tickets cost $18 for adults and $16 for seniors.  Juniors 12-15 are $12 and Kids 6-11 are $9 and Kids 5 and under are free.

Photo Credits to Joe Shivak Imagery.

social position advance

Share this post