Ocean Sprints geared up for another Johnny Key Classic Qualifier this Friday to open Double Down Weekend

Ocean Sprints geared up for another Johnny Key Classic Qualifier this Friday to open Double Down Weekend

11053281_841967819171708_1552933976221394737_nJohnny Key Classic qualifying race number five on tap this Friday night at Ocean Speedway in Watsonville
Double Down Bonus Weekend paired with Saturday’s Peter Murphy Classic

By Gary Thomas

Watsonville, CA – July 20, 2015…Watsonville’s own Justin Sanders will lead the Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo into the fifth qualifying race for the prestigious Johnny Key Classic this Friday night July 24 at Ocean Speedway.

So far there have been four Key Qualifiers held going into Friday night. Drivers already earning lock-in spots have been Auburn’s Andy Forsberg on May 23 in Marysville, Elk Grove’s Greg Decaires on May 30 in Placerville, Chico’s Jonathan Allard on June 20 in Petaluma and last Friday Shane Golobic at Ocean Speedway.

Following this Friday July 24, the final Key Qualifier will then be held on August 21. During the qualifying races, only the race winner will lock into the 24-car Johnny Key Classic feature. This year there will be no series point leader lock-in position. The 55th running of the Key Classic takes place on Saturday August 29 at Ocean Speedway and is the final Civil War vs Ocean Sprints event of the year at the track.

This Friday’s event also marks round 12 for the Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo and is the start of five to go in 2015. Watsonville’s Justin Sanders continues to dominate the point chase, as he looks to bring the home the track title for the first time in his career. The 22-year-old finished third last week, to net his ninth podium in the 11 races held so far this year. Sanders is searching to become a tri-champion in 2015, as he also leads the points with the Civil War Series & at Marysville Raceway.

While Sanders leads the way with five Ocean Sprints wins so far this season, Shane Golobic now ranks second in that category after claiming his third victory of the campaign last Friday. The 23-year-old reigning champ put on a driving clinic last week, lapping all the way up to fourth place. Golobic has earned podium efforts in all but three of his starts and ranks third in points despite missing one race. The Fremont driver will be gunning for victory number four on Friday and if he does so, no driver will lock-in this week.

Former Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo champion Brad Furr looks to rebound this Friday after a dnf last week. The Stockton driver sits second in the standings and would love nothing more than to lock his way into the Johnny Key Classic. Furr last week set his fourth Ray Scheidt’s Electric fast time of the season, tying Golobic for the most in 2015. Gilroy’s Kurt Nelson is coming off a strong outing last Friday, where he finished fourth in the feature. The veteran will be gunning to move his way onto the podium this week. 11133648_748444098608168_2915895764163549694_n

Auburn’s Andy Forsberg will be on hand this Friday in the 121 special. The seven-time Civil War Series champion was the first driver to lock his way into the Johnny Key Classic. Forsberg won last year’s Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo finale. More drivers expected include Morgan Hill’s Nicholas Ringo, Salinas brother’s Jason & Jeremy Chisum, Fremont’s Dustin Golobic, Fresno’s Koen & Kyler Shaw, Hayward’s Danny Malfatti, Corralitos’ Jerry Bonnema, Gilroy’s Ken Fredenburg and others.

This Friday’s event is also the opener of another Prentice Motorsports Group Double Down Bonus Weekend. If a driver wins this Friday at Ocean Speedway and can go on to win the King of the West Peter Murphy Classic on Saturday in Tulare, they’ll go home with an extra $3000 bonus. With the Peter Murphy Classic paying $11,000-to-win it would make for a $15,500 payday for the two nights.

The front gate at Ocean Speedway will open at 4:30pm this Friday night with hot laps at 5:30pm, qualifying around 6pm and racing to follow. The pit gate will open at 2pm. All seating will be general admission with adult tickets $17, seniors 65 & older $16, children 6-12 $13 and kids five and under free. A family pack featuring two adults and two kids is available for $55.

A-main winners so far this year: Justin Sanders (5), Shane Golobic (3), Tommy Tarlton (2), Brad Furr (1)

The Ocean Speedway is located on the Santa Cruz County Fairgrounds in Watsonville, California with the physical address being 2601 East Lake Ave, Watsonville, CA 95076.

Ocean Speedway & the Ocean Sprints would like to thank Taco Bravo, High Five Pizza, Ray Scheidts Electric, Beer Optics, Hoosier Tires West, Bullet Proof Energy Drink, Flowmaster and Kaeding Performance for their support. For more information on the Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo log onto www.racepmg.com

Upcoming Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo events

Friday July 24: (Johnny Key Classic Qualifying Race)
Friday August 7:
Friday August 21: (Johnny Key Classic Qualifying Race)
Saturday August 29: 55th Johnny Key Classic (Civil War vs Ocean Sprints)


Photos courtesy TDS Shots


social position advance

Share this post