Ocean Sprints Ready for Second Attempt at Round #2 Friday

Ocean Sprints Ready for Second Attempt at Round #2 Friday

Watsonville, CA – Mother Nature hasn’t been too kind to race tracks in California, Ocean Speedway included, with last Friday’s race falling to rain.  With clearer skies and warmer temperatures expected, officials, teams, drivers, and fans are anticipating another great night of racing.  On Opening Night, an extremely heavy track greeted the drivers, with 22 of the 27 cars in attendance breaking into the 11 second bracket in qualifying.  Justin Sanders drew first blood in the 2018 Ocean Sprints pres. by Taco Bravo campaign, coming out victorious.  Fremont’s Shane Golobic and Lemoore’s Carson Macedo rounded out the podium.  Fresno’s Dominic Scelzi, Mathew Moles and Koen Shaw, Salinas’ Jason, Josh, and Jeremy Chisum and Bryan Grier, Gilroy’s Kurt Nelson, Stockton’s Brad Furr, and many others from across the state of California are expected to be in attendance this Friday.  The Ocean Sprints will celebrate a big milestone at the track this Friday, as it will be their 150th race since inception in 2007. 

                The IMCA Modifieds will have their second race of 2018 this Friday.  As is typical for the first couple races of the year, the track on Opening Night was a bit rough, and the Modifieds were evidence of that.  Pacifica’s Shane DeVolder biked hard and nearly tipped over early in the feature, but Salinas’ Alex Wilson was not as lucky and barrel rolled his car several times in turn four.  Finding his way through the bumps and coming out with the win was 2008 track champion, Robert Marsh of Salinas.  The Burke brothers, Cody and Austin, came home second and third. 

                The IMCA SportMods kick off their 2018 season this Friday.  Prunedale’s Matt Hagio will look to add to his win tally.  The now two-time track champion is the winningest driver in the division with 18 career wins.  Watsonville’s Adriane deSousa-Frost is expected, as well as Gilroy’s Austin Williams, who will go after Rookie of the Year honors in 2018.  San Jose’s Charlie Hunter and Watsonville’s Billy Robertson, among others, are also expected. 

                The American Stocks will have their second race of the year this Friday.  Their season opener was quite an entertaining one, with Watsonville’s Jerry Skelton holding off past track champion, Billy Nelson, to pick up his second career victory.  Another past champion, Matt Kile of San Jose, was chasing down the pair, but ran out of time and had to settle for third.  Last year’s champion, Robert Gallaher debuted his new car and brought it home for a fourth place finish and DJ Keldsen completed the top five. 

                The Four Bangers will have their second race of the season this week, with Dakota Keldsen coming in as the championship leader after winning on the first night of action.  San Ramon’s Kelly Campanile came in second and Santa Cruz’s Jay Gardner finished third in his first career race on Opening Night.  Bill and Nicole Beardsley came home fourth and fifth, respectively. 

                Pits are scheduled to open at 2pm and Grandstands will open at 4:30pm.  Pit passes are $40 for IMCA and track members and $45 for non-members.  All seating is general admission and tickets cost $17 for adults and $16 for seniors.  Juniors 12-15 are $12 and Kids 6-11 are $6 and Kids 5 and under are free.

Photo Credits to Tim Aylwin.

social position advance

Share this post