Ocean Sprints Roar Back to Life This Friday at Round #12

Ocean Sprints Roar Back to Life This Friday at Round #12

Watsonville, CA – With a week off, the Ocean Sprints pres. by Taco Bravo are back in action for the twelfth night racing this Friday.  Back on July 26th, Campbell’s Bud Kaeding won his fourth Ocean Sprints feature of the 2019 season over Stockton’s Brad Furr, who had his best run of the year.  Fresno’s Koen Shaw picked up another top five with a third place run.  Joel Myers Jr. of Sebastopol and Salinas’ Jason Chisum completed the top five.  For Chisum, this was his third top five in the last four Ocean Sprint events.  The Ocean Sprints have just four races left in the season, including the $5,000-to-win Johnny Key Classic on August 17th.  Bud Kaeding has missed two Ocean Sprint races this year, but with everyone dropping their two worst rounds, he leads the point standings by 114 points over Morgan Hill’s JJ Ringo.  Brad Furr sits third in points.  Koen Shaw, Jeremy and Jason Chisum, Gilroy’s Kurt Nelson, and Castro Valley’s Jake Andreotti are all separated by just 20 points. 

The Hobby Stocks have a quick turnaround to return to the track on Friday night.  The Hobby Stocks are coming off a grueling weekend at the Mike Cecil Memorial, which had a 40 lap feature on Friday and a 41 lap feature on Saturday.  Rob Gallaher of San Jose won his fifth feature of the year on Friday followed by Bakersfield’s Nicholas Johnson taking his first career victory at the track on Saturday.  Including the two drop dates, Rob Gallaher has a commanding 32 point lead over his father, Joe. 

The 4-Bangers are back after a week off.  The division has just three races left in their 2019 season.  On July 26th, John Grilli of Prunedale was declared the winner after a penalty was assessed post-race.  Felton’s Kate and Nicole Beardsley came in second and third.  In the championship standings, it’s going to come down to the Beardsley sisters.  Kate leads Nicole by just two points. 

The Police in Pursuit for Special Olympics have just two races left this season.  On July 26th, Jesse Mueller of the CHP won his second feature of the season.  Point leader John Hohmann of the Scotts Valley PD and Justin Rhodes of the CHP completed the podium positions.  John Hohmann leads the Santa Cruz Sheriff’s Office #77 of Nate Graham and AJ Waltrip by 37 points and the San Benito Sheriff’s Office #805 of Roy Iler by 38 points. 

Advance tickets are available here: https://market.myracepass.com/store/tickets/?i=1176135&store=12231

Pits are scheduled to open at 2pm and Grandstands will open at 4:30pm.  Pill draw will close at 4:30pm.  The driver’s meeting is scheduled for 4:45pm.  Pit passes are $40 for track members and $45 for non-members.  All seating is general admission and tickets cost $18 for adults and $16 for seniors.  Juniors 12-15 are $12 and Kids 6-11 are $9 and Kids 5 and under are free.

Photo Credits to Joe Shivak Imagery. 

social position advance

Share this post