Ocean Sprints Round #11 On the Docket Friday Night

Ocean Sprints Round #11 On the Docket Friday Night

Watsonville, CA – With the 9th Annual Howard Kaeding Classic now in the books, the Ocean Sprints move on to another round of weekly competition.  Last week, Fremont’s Shane Golobic picked up the Friday night 360 win after a great race with Penngrove’s Chase Johnson and Campbell’s Bud Kaeding.  Kaeding finished second and extended his lead in the point standings in doing so.  Roseville’s Colby Copeland, Fresno’s Koen Shaw, and Lemoore’s Cole Macedo completed the top five.  With five races left in the Ocean Sprints season, Bud Kaeding has an 80 point lead over the top series rookie, JJ Ringo of Morgan Hill, when including the two dropped races.  Jeremy Chisum is 120 points back in third while a dog fight for fourth is underway.  Koen Shaw, Castro Valley’s Jake Andreotti, Gilroy’s Kurt Nelson, and Jason Chisum are separated by just 5 points.

The IMCA SportMods are back after two days of action as part of the Kaeding last week.  Antioch’s Todd Gomez won on Friday and Hollister’s Dennis Simunovich grabbed the win on Saturday.  Bakersfield’s Kevin Johnson was second in both races.  Johnson has finished second in five of the six races he has attended this season.  His other finish was a third at the Egleston Memorial.  Antioch’s Guy Ahlwardt, Grass Valley’s Andrew Peckham, and Atwater’s Jarrod Mounce completed the top five on Friday with Mounce, Watsonville’s Billy Robertson, and Santa Cruz Steven Allee the top five on Saturday.  Jarrod Mounce’s stellar weekend vaulted him to the top of the weekly point standings six points ahead of Adriane Frost of Watsonville.

The Hobby Stocks are also on the card after running both days last weekend.  San Jose’s Matt Kile and Watsonville’s Jerry Skelton both picked up their first feature wins of the season.  Watsonville’s DJ Keldsen, Gilroy’s Nick Triolo, and Bobby Huckaby Sr. and Jr. of Santa Cruz completed the top five on Friday.  On Saturday, Huckaby Sr., Triolo, Huckaby Jr., and Kile were the top five.  Noticeably absent were point leaders Rob and Joe Gallaher.  However, with the division dropping everyone’s two worse rounds, they still remain at the top of the point standings. 

The 4-Bangers have just four races left in the 2019 season.  Back on July 12th, DJ Keldsen took the win in convincing fashion over Nicole Beardsley of Felton, Watsonville’s Abigail Kennedy, Kate Beardsley, and Bill Beardsley the top five.  Kate and Nicole Beardsley are tied atop the point standings.  Kate is going after her second straight championship in the division while Nicole is looking for her first. 

The Police in Pursuit for Special Olympics have just three races left this year.  On July 12th, Dan Anderson of the Task Force won his first career PnP feature with a last lap pass on AJ Waltrip of the Santa Cruz County Sheriff’s Office.  John Hohmann of the Scotts Valley PD, Steven Fernandes of the Santa Clara County Sheriff’s Office, and Adam Rikalo of the CHP completed the top five.  John Hohmann has a commanding 29 point lead in the point standings over the Santa Cruz County Sheriff’s Office #77 car of AJ Waltrip and Nate Graham.

Advance tickets are available here: https://market.myracepass.com/store/tickets/?i=1176090&store=12231

Pits are scheduled to open at 2pm and Grandstands will open at 4:30pm.  Pill draw will close at 4:30pm.  The driver’s meeting is scheduled for 4:45pm.  Pit passes are $40 for IMCA and track members and $45 for non-members.  All seating is general admission and tickets cost $18 for adults and $16 for seniors.  Juniors 12-15 are $12 and Kids 6-11 are $9 and Kids 5 and under are free.

Photo Credits to David Spencer.

social position advance

Share this post