Ocean Sprints Round #8 On the Docket for Friday Night

Ocean Sprints Round #8 On the Docket for Friday Night

Watsonville, CA – After a week off to make way for the Pombo/Sargent Classic featuring the King of the West Sprint Cars Series, the Ocean Sprints pres. by Taco Bravo are back on track this Friday night.  Back on June 14th, Aromas’ Justin Sanders won his second Ocean Sprints feature victory of the season.  Sanders was noticeably absent at the Pombo/Sargent race, as he was in Washington competing in the annual Dirt Cup.  Campbell’s Bud Kaeding, Lemoore’s Cole Macedo, Morgan Hill’s JJ Ringo, and Stockton’s Brad Furr completed the top five at the Ocean Sprints’ last appearance.  Officials at Ocean Speedway are actively working on getting the correct point standings posted.  New for 2019, all drivers in the division will drop their two lowest scoring nights when determining a champion.  Unofficially, Bud Kaeding leads Justin Sanders by just one point when factoring in the two dropped races.  Brad Furr, JJ Ringo, and Jeremy Chisum of Salinas are unofficially the rest of the current top five in points.   

The IMCA Modifieds return for their sixth race of the year.  Last week, Martinez’s Troy Foulger grabbed the win ahead of a massive 21 car field.  Nick DeCarlo, also of Martinez, led laps in the feature but had to settle for second with Prunedale’s Jim Pettit II, Austin Burke of Salinas, and San Martin’s Jeff Decker completing the top five.  Austin Burke was able to cut his brother Cody’s lead in the point standings down to two with his top five run. 

The IMCA SportMods are back after a week off.  Atwater’s Jarrod Mounce won for the second time this season ahead of Antioch’s Guy Ahlwardt, who remains the statewide point leader for the IMCA Northern SportMods.  Ahlwardt is also fourth in the nation.  Prunedale’s Max Baggett had his best run so far in his career with a third place finish.  Santa Cruz’s Steven Allee and San Ramon’s Kelly Campanile completed the top five.  Watsonville’s Adriane Frost leads the point standings over Mounce and Ahlwardt, who are 16 and 17 points back, respectively.

The Hobby Stocks are also back after a week off.  Last time out, Joe Gallaher won his first A-Main of the year, denying his son Rob from taking his fifth win of the year.  The younger of the two Gallahers had to settle for second this time.  Bobby Huckaby Jr. of Santa Cruz, Freedom’s Wally Kennedy, and Watsonville’s Tony Oliveira rounded out the top five.  As is the case in the Sprint Cars, the Hobby Stocks will also drop their two lowest scoring nights.  Unofficially, Rob Gallaher has a 17 point lead over Joe Gallaher when factoring in the two dropped races.

The Police in Pursuit return for the first time since June 7th.  Jesse Mueller of the CHP stole the win away from fellow CHP officer Justin Rhodes with a last lap, last corner pass.  Rhodes would come up just a foot or two short of the victory as the two drag raced to the line.  Roy Iler of the San Benito Sheriff’s Office was third, with Steven Fernandes of the Santa Clara Sheriff’s Office and Chris Murphy of the CHP completed the top five.  John Hohmann of the Scotts Valley PD has the lead in the point standings, with Iler in second ten points behind. 

Advance tickets are available here: https://market.myracepass.com/store/tickets/?i=1176060&store=12231

Pits are scheduled to open at 2pm and Grandstands will open at 4:30pm.  Pill draw will close at 4:30pm.  The driver’s meeting is scheduled for 4:45pm.  Pit passes are $40 for IMCA and track members and $45 for non-members.  All seating is general admission and tickets cost $18 for adults and $16 for seniors.  Juniors 12-15 are $12 and Kids 6-11 are $9 and Kids 5 and under are free.

Photo Credits to David Spencer.

social position advance

Share this post