Ocean Sprints Round Seven On Tap for Friday Night

Ocean Sprints Round Seven On Tap for Friday Night

Watsonville, CA – The Ocean Sprints pres. by Taco Bravo return to the track after a week off this Friday night for their seventh race of the year.  Back on May 31st, Campbell’s Bud Kaeding’s domination continued as he collected his third win of the 2019 season.  Kaeding was able to top some of the best talent in California with Justin Sanders of Aromas, Fresno’s Dominic Scelzi, Hanford’s Mitchell Faccinto, and top rookie contender JJ Ringo of Morgan Hill completing the top five.  Salinas’ Jeremy Chisum leads the unadjusted point standings.  All drivers will drop their two lowest scoring nights when determining a champion.

The IMCA SportMods are back again this Friday for their sixth race of the season.  Last week, it was an emotional return to victory lane for Watsonville’s Adriane Frost, as she picked up her first win since the passing of her mother, Sue Silveira.  Justin McPherson of San Martin, Atwater’s Jarrod Mounce, Antioch’s Guy Ahlwardt, and San Jose’s Randy Miller completed the top five.  With the victory, Frost propelled herself to the top of the point standings leading Gilroy’s Austin Williams by four points.

The Hobby Stocks are also on the schedule for Friday night.  San Jose’s Rob Gallaher has been almost untouchable thus far this season as he won for the fourth time this year last week.  Gilroy’s Nick Triolo led much of the main event last Friday, but had to settle for second.  Watsonville’s Jerry Skelton, Freedom’s Wally Kennedy, and Santa Cruz’s Ryan Muller completed the top five.  This was Muller’s first career top five in his fourth career race.  Rob Gallaher handily leads in the point standings over his father, Joe.  As with the Sprint Cars, all drivers will lose their two lowest scoring nights in the Hobby Stocks.

The 4-Bangers return to action after a week off.  Back on May 31st, 2012 champ Dan McCabe returned to the track for the first time in several years and put on quite the show.  McCabe was able to get by Prunedale’s John Grilli in the final turn to grab the win.  Watsonville’s Tony Gullo, and Felton’s Kate and Nicole Beardsley rounded out the top five.  Kate Beardsley leads her sister, Nicole, in the point standings by just two markers. 

Advance tickets are available here: https://market.myracepass.com/store/tickets/?i=1176033&store=12231

Pits are scheduled to open at 2pm and Grandstands will open at 4:30pm.  Pill draw will close at 4:30pm.  The driver’s meeting is scheduled for 4:45pm.  Pit passes are $40 for IMCA and track members and $45 for non-members.  All seating is general admission and tickets cost $18 for adults and $16 for seniors.  Juniors 12-15 are $12 and Kids 6-11 are $9 and Kids 5 and under are free.

Photo Credits to Joe Shivak Imagery.

social position advance

Share this post