POWRi/BCRA Midgets Charge into Ocean Speedway Friday For One and Only 2019 Appearance

POWRi/BCRA Midgets Charge into Ocean Speedway Friday For One and Only 2019 Appearance

Watsonville, CA – The powerful and always entertaining BCRA Midgets head to Ocean Speedway for their only 2019 show this Friday.  Last year, Penngrove’s Chase Johnson won his first career feature at the track.  Since then, he’s added an Ocean Sprints victory to his résumé as well.  Johnson is tentatively scheduled to defend his 2018 win aboard the Morris Motorsports owned number 71R.  Finishing behind Johnson in 2018 were Macdoel’s Maria Cofer and Anaheim’s Robert Dalby.  Fourth went to Tehachapi’s Shannon McQueen, who was scheduled to be in attendance this week, but hurt an engine at her last race and will unfortunately have to miss this Friday’s show.  Fifth went to Clovis’ Jackson Dukes, who is one of the top runners in the new Western Midget division.  The Western Midgets will run a co-sanctioned program with BCRA.  Fresno’s David Prickett will be the one to beat in that division.  Prickett has won both features contested this year for the Western Midgets.

The IMCA SportMods are back on the card once again this Friday.  Antioch’s Guy Ahlwardt won for the first time in 2019, making it four different winners in four races for the divisions this season.  Kevin and Michael Johnson of Bakersfield finished second and third with Atwater’s Jarrod Mounce and Watsonville’s TJ Etchison completing the top five.  Gilroy’s Austin Williams leads Adriane Frost of Watsonville by just 2 points heading in to Friday.

The Hobby Stocks are in action again as well.  San Jose’s Rob Gallaher led a family 1-2 with his father Joe coming home second.  This was Rob’s third win of the season.  Bobby Huckaby Jr. of Santa Cruz, Los Banos’ Allan Neal, and Gilroy’s Chris McCabe rounded out the top five.  Rob Gallaher leads the unadjusted point standings by 24 markers over Joe Gallaher.  All drivers in the Hobby Stocks will drop their two lowest scoring nights when determining a champion.

The South Bay Dwarf Cars are back for a second week in a row.  The big question heading in to Friday is can anyone stop Mark Biscardi?  Biscardi of San Jose won for the third time in 2019 last week in dominating fashion once again.   Hollister’s Ryan Ameln, Campbell’s Eric Weisler, Redwood City’s Barry Waddell, and Atwater’s Lonnie Tekaat completed the top five. 

The Police in Pursuit return for the first time in a couple weeks this Friday.  Back on May 17th, Scotts Valley PD’s John Hohmann picked up the win after a stout performance.  Roy Iler of the San Benito Sheriff’s Office was second.  Iler will have a little extra track time under his belt going in to Friday, as he competed in the 4-Bangers last week for the first time, coming in ninth.  Justin Rhodes of the CHP, Opening Night winner Cliff Sloma of the Capitola PD, and Dan Anderson representing the Task Force completed the top five.  Two races in, John Hohmann leads Cliff Sloma by ten points in the championship standings. 

The 4-Bangers are off this Friday and will return on June 14th.  Some schedules mistakenly had them on for this Friday, but that is not the case.  We apologize for the confusion.  

Advance tickets are available here: https://market.myracepass.com/store/tickets/?i=1176018&store=12231

Pits are scheduled to open at 2pm and Grandstands will open at 4:30pm.  Pill draw will close at 4:30pm.  The driver’s meeting is scheduled for 4:45pm.  Pit passes are $40 for IMCA and track members and $45 for non-members.  All seating is general admission and tickets cost $18 for adults and $16 for seniors.  Juniors 12-15 are $12 and Kids 6-11 are $9 and Kids 5 and under are free.

Photo Credits to Collin Markle Photography.

social position advance

Share this post