Round #12 of the Ocean Sprints pres. by Taco Bravo Season On Deck Friday

Round #12 of the Ocean Sprints pres. by Taco Bravo Season On Deck Friday

Watsonville, CA – It’s crunch time for the Ocean Sprints pres. by Taco Bravo Series, as only three races remain in the 2017 season.  Last week, Aromas’ Justin Sanders won for the fifth time this season after capitalizing on a mistake by Fresno rookie, Mathew Moles. Sanders is still trying to claw back in the championship fight, currently led by Sebastopol’s Geoff Ensign.  Ensign has a 58 point lead over Sanders and a 59 point lead over last year’s champ, Stockton’s Brad Furr.  Salinas’ Jeremy Chisum is in fourth, 154 behind Ensign, with Gilroy’s Kurt Nelson currently rounding out the top five.  Other drivers expected include Jason Chisum, Fresno’s Koen Shaw and Mathew Moles, and Corralitos’ Jerry Bonnema.  Other possible visitors include a car or two from the potent Tarlton Motorsports stable. 

                The IMCA Modifieds return to action Friday evening.  Last week, Salinas’ Bobby Hogge IV won for the sixth time this year and moved up to fifth in the standings.  Martinez’s Nick DeCarlo holds a 1-point advantage over Cody Burke of Salinas.  Alex Wilson, also of Salinas, remains in third, 13 points behind DeCarlo.  Including this Friday, the division only has 4 points races left, including the two-day Pat Pettit Shootout, September 29-30.  Of note, the Friday of the Pettit will only pay track and IMCA points, while Saturday’s show will pay track, IMCA, and All Star Tour points.  Payout will be finalized and released within the coming weeks.

                The IMCA SportMods have six races left this season, and Matt Hagio looks poised to become the first repeat champion in the division since it was started in 2012.  Back on August 12th, Hagio collected his eighth win of the season to extend his point’s lead to 8 over Hollister’s Mark Hartman.   San Jose’s Charlie Hunter is third in points, 53 behind Hagio. 

                The Four Bangers only have three more races this year.  Last week, Manteca’s Jason Womack visited the track for the first time this year and wound up in victory lane after dominating the main event.  Meanwhile, Dakota Keldsen is primed to become one of the youngest champions in the track’s history.  Keldsen has an 11 point lead over Felton’s Bill Beardsley and a 58 point lead over Kate Beardsley.  It would be approximately the 13th track championship for the Keldsen family in the track’s 58 year history if he can hang on for a couple more weeks.

                The Police-N-Pursuit for Special Olympics has their penultimate race this Friday.  On July 28th, CHP’s Jesse Mueller finally met his match in the Task Force’s Jason Kelly, who became the first to defeat him this season.  Mueller leads the standing by 22 over the multi-driver lineup of the Task Force team.  Justin Rhodes of the CHP is in third, 30 points back and Steven Fernandes of the Santa Cruz Sherriff’s Office in is fourth, 40 points out of the lead.  The CHP’s Chris Murphy is in fifth, 49 points behind.  The group has raised more than $36,000 for Special Olympics of Northern California this year and is hopeful to break last year’s record of $40,000. 

Advance tickets are available here:

                Pits are scheduled to open at 2pm and Grandstands will open at 4:30pm.  Pit passes are $45 for non-members and $40 for track and IMCA members.  All seating is general admission and tickets cost $17 for adults and $16 for seniors.  New for 2017, Juniors 12-15 are $12 and Kids 6-11 are $6.  As always, Kids 5 and under are free.

The IMCA Modifieds have just about a month left to prepare for their biggest race of the season, the 7th Annual Pat Pettit Shootout, September 29-30.  

Photo Credits to David Spencer.

social position advance

Share this post