Shane Golobic becomes the 4th driver to qualify for the Johnny Key Classic after dominating drive Friday

Shane Golobic becomes the 4th driver to qualify for the Johnny Key Classic after dominating drive Friday

july 17 winTwo-time Taco Bravo champion Shane Golobic dominates Ocean Sprints round 11 to lock himself into the 55th Johnny Key Classic at Ocean Speedway

By Gary Thomas

Watsonville, CA – July 17, 2015…Taking the lead at the waving of the green flag and never looking back Fremont’s Shane Golobic put on a dominating performance Friday night, lapping up to the fourth place car en route to his third victory of the Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo season.

The win locks Golobic into the 55th running of the Johnny Key Classic, joining Jonathan Allard, Greg Decaires and Andy Forsberg as the fourth automatic qualifier. The Key will be held at Ocean Speedway on Saturday August 29 and is the final Civil War vs Ocean Sprints event of the season at the quarter-mile. Golobic’s win came at the helm of the Keith Day Trucking/ Gabilan Ag Service No. 22 machine.

“We had a great car tonight and I’m really happy to get our third win of the year at Ocean Speedway and lock into the Johnny Key Classic,” Golobic commented. “The Johnny Key is one of those events I really want to check off on my bucket list. Locking in tonight is an important deal when it comes to having a shot to win the Key. Thank you to my whole team and all our sponsors for their support. We’ll now go on to Placerville tomorrow and try to sweep the weekend.”

Current King of the West Series point leader Carson Macedo of Lemoore started on pole by way of winning the dash, but when the green flag waved it was outside front row starter Golobic getting the jump. A lightning fast surface was seen and Golobic’s machine was on a rail all race long. The only thing slowing him down early was a pair of scary incidents on lap-four. The first when young Ryan Robinson suffered a reported broken rear axle, which sent him for a wild snap roll in turn four. The 14-year-old was battling for the third spot at the time of his misfortune. He emerged from the car okay.

On the ensuing restart Jeremy Chisum & Ken Fredenburg went for a violent end-over-end ride down the front stretch. Chisum got the worst end of the deal in one of the scariest accidents we’ve seen in some time. After a few intense moments he emerged from the car and walked to the ambulance, much to the delight of the crowd. Following this 26-straight laps were clicked off and saw Golobic check out from the field. He did a masterful job through lapped traffic and took the checkered flag by four & a half seconds over Macedo. The only cars left on the lead lap at the end were Golobic, Macedo, Justin Sanders and Kurt Nelson.

Macedo’s runner up finish was his best result in two Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo starts11705361_908038512588506_7737336781084290088_n this year and came aboard the Josh Ford Motorsports No. 73 mount. The 19-year-old did a nice job to hold off Sanders over the later stages, who applied heavy pressure to his rear bumper. The podium effort for Sanders continued his ultra impressive season aboard his family owned North County Plastering No. 17 Sprinter. The 22-year-old has finished on the podium in all but two races this year with the Ocean Sprints and leads the field into round 12 next Friday night. It was a nice rebound for Sanders after getting upside down in the dash while battling for second.

Nelson had a solid night in the Babe’s Lightning & Muffler No. 72 and came out on top of a hard fought battle with Nicholas Ringo for the fourth position. A week after suffering electrical issues Ringo came back to have a nice evening and rounded out the top-five. The remainder of the top-10 was filled out by Heath Duinkerken, Jason Chisum, Koen Shaw, Dustin Golobic and Jerry Bonnema. Jason Chisum claimed the High Five Pizza Hard Charger Award, while brother Jeremy earned the Beer Optics Hard Luck Award for his scary crash in the feature.

As mentioned, Macedo captured the dash, with three entertaining eight-lap heat races being picked off by Brad Furr, Ryan Robinson & Shane Golobic. Robinson’s win came after holding off a very fast Justin Sanders, while Golobic made a final corner high-side pass of Macedo. Brad Furr kicked-off the night by setting his fourth Ray Scheidt’s Electric Fast Time of the season with a blistering lap of 11.593. By doing so he tied Shane Golobic for the most fast time efforts so far this season. Full results will be available at

A-main finish: 1. 22 Shane Golobic, 2. 73 Carson Macedo, 3. 17 Justin Sanders, 4. 72w Kurt Nelson, 5. 3t Nicholas Ringo, 6. 79 Heath Duinkerken, 7. 25z Jason Chisum, 8. 88 Koen Shaw, 9. 9j Dustin Golobic, 10. 58 Jerry Bonnema, 11. 83 Austin Liggett, 12. 55 Danny Malfatti, 13. 29r Riley Matson, 14. 2 Brad Furr, 15. 10 Anthony Simone, 16. 23 Ken Fredenburg, 17. 8 Jeremy Chisum, 18. 1r Ryan Robinson, 19. 83m Mike Stallings

The Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo will return to action next Friday night July 24 to open a PMG Double Down Bonus Weekend. Win Friday in Watsonville & Saturday at the King of the West Peter Murphy Classic, a driver will go home with a $3000 bonus. It also marks the fifth Johnny Key Classic Qualifying race and the second with the Ocean Sprints.

Photos courtesy TDS Shots, Golobic Racing & JFM Facebook


social position advance

Share this post