USAC/CRA Sprint Cars, Four Banger and Police in Pursuit Championship Night Highlight Friday Night’s Action

USAC/CRA Sprint Cars, Four Banger and Police in Pursuit Championship Night Highlight Friday Night’s Action

Watsonville, CA – The powerful and always entertaining USAC/CRA Sprint Car Series comes to town for the first and only time of the 2018 season this Friday at Ocean Speedway.  Buena Park’s Brody Roa and Concord’s Damion Gardner lead the series points.  Ocean Speedway will host Night #5 of the California Sprint Week, with Damion Gardner, Colby Copeland, and Ryan Bernal picking up wins thus far this week.  Night #4 takes place Thursday in Chico.  Last year, Kevin Thomas Jr. grabbed the win here at Ocean Speedway.  Some of the drivers expected to be in action this Friday include all three Williams brothers – Austin, Cody, and Logan of Yorba Linda, Tipton’s Danny Faria Jr., Phoenix’s RJ Johnson, Verdemont Heights’ Chris Gansen, and Riverside’s Matt McCarthy among many other series regulars.  Two-time feature winner in the old Spec Sprint division, Nick Larson of Benicia, is also expected, as well as wing sprint car aces Chase Johnson of Penngrove and Fresno’s Koen Shaw. 

                The 2018 Four Banger track champion will be crowned this Friday night.  Watsonville’s Abigail Kennedy and Dakota Keldsen are separated by only seven points heading in to the final race of the year.  Kate and Nicole Beardsley have an outside shot at the championship, 11 and 14 points behind Kennedy.  Each of the four drivers have one win to their credit in 2018.  At the division’s last race way back on July 13th, Santa Cruz’s Nate Teramo became the first driver this season to collect two wins in the division.  San Jose’s Ray Bunn, Gilroy’s Tom Summers, and Kate and Nicole Beardsley completed the top five. 

                The Police in Pursuit for Special Olympics season will also come to a conclusion this Friday.  Jesse Mueller representing the California Highway Patrol has a sizable 14 point lead over Chris Murphy, also representing the CHP and a 16 point lead over the Task Force Racers team.  At their last race on July 27th, Chris Murphy won for the first time, with a pair of Scotts Valley PD cars rounding out the podium – Jared Johnson in second and John Hohmann in third. 

                The American Stocks are on the card as well.  At their last race at the Johnny Key Classic, San Jose’s Matt Kile won for the fifth time this season and stretched out his point lead a little more in the process.  Robert Gallaher had engine problems with his car once again and had to step into his father’s ride to try and keep touch with Kile in the championship chase.  Gallaher was able to come in second, with San Martin’s JC Elrod, San Jose’s Mike Calhoun, and Watsonville’s Jerry Skelton completing the top five.  Matt Kile’s lead in the championship currently stands at 13 points over Robert Gallaher and 44 points ahead of JC Elrod with five races left in the season. 

                Pits are scheduled to open at 2pm and Grandstands will open at 4:30pm.  Pit passes are $40 for USAC and track members and $45 for non-members.  All seating will be general admission.

Photo Credits to David Spencer. 

social position advance

Share this post